Will miniDV tapes from other HD camera work on the HV20? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 27th, 2007, 10:40 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Will miniDV tapes from other HD camera work on the HV20?

I have a problem camera, the HC1 - firewire is dead - I am wondering whether to have the Firewire fixed (about $550) or to buy the HV20 (about $950 on Amazon) and use it as a camera/deck with my HC1 - and as a second progressive camera. Since the HC1 is NOT progressive, will the HV20 still play back the tapes created in HC1 properly?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 11:03 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
First, make sure it isn't cable itself.

Second, I have captured tape from FX1 through the HV20 successfully, so it should do same for HC1. Warning, though, one thing you might discover after getting the HV20 is that it will give you a better image than the HC1.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 11:52 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Springfield, US
Posts: 63
Tapes from other units will be fairly compatible, but be careful of "unique" shooting features from the different models. Canon has their 24F and 30F modes that are only compatible with Canon equipment, and Sony may have a similar thing with the HVR-V1U.
Ian Albinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2007, 01:49 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Thanks for that. HC1 has only interlace mode, so I think that should be ok. Now I need to find one on the cheap!
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2007, 04:26 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 15
hv10/20 wrecks HC1/3/5/7
You'll want sell the HC1 scrap and buy another canon =)
Luiz Murillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2007, 07:06 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Do you mean that figuratively or that it physically wreck tapes?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2007, 01:55 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
I can play my HC1 tapes on the HV20 with no problem. Where I got burned and others may be ware though is, since my NTSC HC1 had no problem playing Sony FX1 PAL tapes I assumed (foolishly I know) that there was still that HDV format rule in effect that said that you didn't have to be able to record in all flavors of HDV but you have to be able to play all flavors (for example, the HDVHS that JVC came out with that started this whole thing could never record 1980p but by HDV rules could always play 1080p.) Any way HV20s will not even play 1080 50i or JVC style 720p (even though both the FX1 and HC1 would play those tapes as well). Oh well, as Canon showed in its rude treatment of customers wanting to edit the 24p footage, it's not gonna go crazy to help you on the small but important stuff.
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2007, 10:18 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Betsy,
I am a little confused what you are talking about. I am glad the HV20 can be played in a HC1, that is important to me, but you lost me on the rest of it...
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2007, 01:27 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Delaney View Post
Betsy,
I am a little confused what you are talking about. I am glad the HV20 can be played in a HC1, that is important to me, but you lost me on the rest of it...
No David, unfortunately HV20 tapes can't be played in the HC1--only Vice versa, HC1 tapes can be played in the HV20. As for the rest of it, it doesn't apply to you unless you have tapes from other HDV cameras (like the JVC HD-1 or the PAL Sonys) which a lot of people on this site do have so that heads up might be helpful to them. But if you're only worried about NTSC HC1 footage playing on an NTSC Canon HV20 you'll be all right.
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network