XLR Mic for Canon XA10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders

Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders
For the Canon XA25, XA20, XA10 and all VIXIA / LEGRIA Series AVCHD camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2011, 05:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 43
XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Hello,

I was very lucky yesterday as I could order a XA10 as a internet seller had exactly one unit. In any case I bought the XA10 due to the XLR inputs and I am now looking for a shotgun mic that can be mounted on the camcorder and I was looking for the Rode NTG-2.

Now my questions:
1) does it fit on the handle ?
2) could I get a problem with this as it gets in the picture on wide shoots?
3) overall feedback on that setup?

As always - thanks a lot
Andreas
Andreas Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2011, 07:26 AM   #2
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 795
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

RODE NTG-1 is perfect. Ther larger "2" model too big for the camera.
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2011, 02:06 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 43
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Understood, so the NTG2 would be visible at wide angles ? Not good. Ok. I will look at the NTG 1 instead.
Andreas Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2011, 10:18 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

The Rode is a very nice mike. You might also look at the Audio-Technica 875, which is about 7 inches long and made for compact cameras. Like the Rode, it requires phantom power, which the camera supplies.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2011, 07:36 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lynn Mass
Posts: 15
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

The NTG2 also is powered by a 1.5 AA battery, something that may be of interest. Remember that if you are powering your XLR mic, out in the field, you will be depleting your battery that much quicker, and an XLR mic I've read can take 30 minutes off your battery life.

I was under the assumption that the NTG1 and NTG2 are the exactly the same diameter.

Btw, the NTG1 needs a bit of foam or tape to fit into the XA10's mic holder from what I've also read ( I have no experience with this mic, but was also look at this as a possibility, however I want a stereo mic instead of a mono unit like the NTG1 or 2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Schmidt View Post
Understood, so the NTG2 would be visible at wide angles ? Not
good. Ok. I will look at the NTG 1 instead.
David Zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2011, 07:40 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 408
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

The NTG1 and NTG2 are different lengths!
Stephen Sobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 11:12 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 43
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Hello,

I received the camcorder and the Rode NTG1 today. In fact the mic is too small to fit and I need to organize in fact some foam. I ordererd the SM5 as well and that adds quite some weight.
Andreas Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2011, 11:28 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 110
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

If the xa10 mic holder is the same as the xh-a1....
Quote:
If you go the route of the NTG-1 or 2, you will need 3 #15 o-rings from the hardware plumbing department to make up the difference in diameter of the NTG and the Canon holder.
Paul Elertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2011, 03:30 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 43
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Made the foam myself with some carton qnd now the mic sits and holds very well but I still have to be very careful otherwise the mic is visible in the picture. In other words no full wide angel shooting. Need to play around with it a little more.
Andreas Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2011, 12:37 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Azden SGM-PDII On-Camera Short Shotgun Microphone SGM-PDII B&H

Anyone used this? Apparently it comes with O rings, and according to a review at B&H it fits great. I like the price, no negative reviews, and it's less than 6", which sounds good to me.

Edit: I attempted to hihack the thread inadvertently, sorry, I'll start a new thread or something later.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; September 23rd, 2011 at 06:40 PM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2011, 01:39 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Schmidt View Post
...but I still have to be very careful otherwise the mic is visible in the picture. In other words no full wide angel shooting. Need to play around with it a little more.
You should be able to position the NTG-1 such that you can not only shoot full wide, but can shoot full wide with the WA adaptor as well
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2011, 06:30 AM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,299
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

The specs for the Azden SGM-PDII on the B&H web page do not match the specs on the Azden web page.

Though folks appear to be satisfied with the Azden - based on published specs (and reviewer satisfaction) I would give serious consideration to the AT875. (In fact, I may get one this week)For a bit more money you get better signal to noise, higher output and wider dynamic range, and it will tolerate a higher sound level before distortion. One potentially significant point is that the Azden has a rated impedance (on the Azden site) of 1.5K ohms, A bit high I think for a 600 ohm input.

As to the one reviewer on the B&H who complained about the AT needing phantom power, the XA10 provides phantom power.

I use a few turns of gaffer tape on the mic barrel to mount my Rode NTG-2, and it does NOT extend into the full wide zoom image, even with the foam on the mic. However, the mic does look a bit long on the camcorder, the XA10 being as compact as it is.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2011, 06:42 AM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,299
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Quote:
I've read can take 30 minutes off your battery life.
The mic in question here draw about 2.5 ma phantom power at 48 volts. Stepped up from 7 volts that would translate to about 20 ma of battery current. Since the camcorder draws a nominal 400 MA this would net to a 5% increase in power draw, or a 5% reduction in battery run time. That corresponds to 30 minutes if you have a nominal 10 hour battery.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2011, 07:49 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Thanks Don, good info.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2011, 08:43 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: XLR Mic for Canon XA10

Per your commnet, I was looking at the specs of the mic, compared to to some others, and noticed the Rode Videomic has what appears to be excellent specs, better than many of these shotguns.

I went and got my Videomic out, which I don't use anymore, removed the shoe mount contraption, slid it into the mic holder of the XA10, and PRESTO, it's looks perfect. a $10 XLR adapter and I might be good. No shock mount, but I'll test it out, I'm stoked.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network