Oops, wrong audio setting at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders

Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders
For the Canon XA25, XA20, XA10 and all VIXIA / LEGRIA Series AVCHD camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 15th, 2012, 11:40 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Oops, wrong audio setting

I've been running a battery powered mic on my XA10 with the +48 turned on, instead of off, as I should have.

Can anyone tell me what kind of effect this has probably had on things?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 03:18 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 39
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

Probably nothing except for draining your XA10's battery a little prematurely. I've done exactly what you described a few times briefly and didn't seem to have an ill effects. Not that I recommend continuing to phantom power a mic that doesn't need it, but either my camera nor my mic seemed to be harmed. =)
Ryan Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 03:25 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

Ryan, I've hear mics or circuits can be damaged, but it's been so long I don't know where I read that.

Thanks for sharing.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 07:52 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

Jeff what brand battery mic is it?

The worst situation would be having an XLR plug on its output and plugging it into your A1 with its 48V turned on :(

But if it's a 3.5mm mic output jack, then the A1 48V doesn't feed that cams circuit. But I wouldn't do it again :)

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 10:32 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

Allan, it's a Videomic, and it was a worst situation as you describe it.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 07:43 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

The results depend on the specifics of the gear involved. Reading the manual may give some indication if it has warnings. The phantom power output of most gear is current limited to protect the phantom power soruce. The greater likelihood is damage to the microphone, but the good manufacturers design gear to avoid damage from this sort of predictable user error. If the recorded sound was OK there is a reasonable chance you got by with nothing worse than making an embrarrasing admission in a public forum.

FWIW: many mics have somewhat better specification (especially for max sound level) when on phantom power compared to using internal battery power. Worth checking, especially if recoding in loud venues.

The XA10 typcial camcorder draws around 400 MA. A phantom-powered mic like the Rode NTG2 or AT897 draws around 2 MA, an insigifiicant additional load on th camcorder battery.

I did not know a Rode Videomic had an XLR connector option, thought the were all 3.5MM stereo phone plugs.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 08:15 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

Right Don, it is the mic that I have heard is in greatest danger. Sound came out fine, which it has for the last dozen jobs. I find it incomprehensible that I did not look at that setting, but that's what happened.

I use a specific Rode XLR adapter for the mic.

Mic seems to be working fine still, thank goodness, maybe no harm was done. I'm glad I noticed it when examining the camera the other day.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 03:28 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

The nominal $10 Rode adapter looks like it might map the phantom power directly to the mic terminals. The price point strike me as too low to include any isolation transformers..

Might be interesting to see how the pins map. I expect Pin 1 to direct connect to the sleeve of the 3.5MM plug, pin 2 to tip (might be some resistance, but if so, not much), and pin 3 to the ring.

Given that the XA10 has a 3.5mm mic jack input, why not use it?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 03:40 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Oops, wrong audio setting

Don, I do use the mini-jack at receptions, but for the ceremony I run the shotgun and a wireless unit simultaneously, hence the need for XLR.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network