Audio level indicator on XA10 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders

Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders
For the Canon XA25, XA20, XA10 and all VIXIA / LEGRIA Series AVCHD camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 28th, 2012, 03:55 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Audio level indicator on XA10

My newer XA10 does not show the audio levels when using the internal mic as my older XA10 does.

I've been through the menu repeatedly and cannot find a way to make this happen, any suggestions?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2012, 05:20 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: Audio level indicator on XA10

This might help .. Audio level meters

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2012, 07:06 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Audio level indicator on XA10

They are talking about external mic settings, Alan. I'm talking about internal. I'll dig out my manual after I wake up, must go to bed.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2012, 01:32 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Re: Audio level indicator on XA10

The XA10 shows the audio level when it is switched to M but not to Auto. This may be your problem.
Giving my XA10 a workout in the Canadian Rockies at present.
Christopher Dunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2012, 01:55 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Audio level indicator on XA10

Christopher, thanks. I was in M mode, as I white balance, etc manually at all times, but I'll try switching to auto and then back to see if it will help "kick it" on or something. thanks again!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2012, 02:05 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Audio level indicator on XA10

I see now Chris, go to menu, AUDIO, and you can choose auto or manual gain, and also whether to have indicator on even during auto. I guess I set it up on my first cam and forgot how I did it.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network