Log and Transfer at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 9th, 2010, 11:44 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 91
Log and Transfer

Hmmmm ... FCP's log and transfer -- can't review clips unlike AVCHD files where you can review clips and even set in an out points before ingesting ....

Can anyone help please? What do I need to do to enable me to review the Canon files in L&T window?

Thanks.
__________________
Shuf
www.malaysiakini.tv
Shufiyan Shukur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2010, 03:04 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 229
Should just work, I can preview & set in/out in L&T with FCP 7 and the plugin.

The only weakness of the system is that the folder structure has to be kept intact, either on the card or, if you copy the card, keep the directory intact by copying the whole CONTENTS folder to disk.

On the mac, if you loose the structure, there is a big problem. Prem CS5 may be able to see the files - anyone?

Nick
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Screen shot 2010-07-09 at 20.59.44.PDF (477.2 KB, 250 views)
__________________
Nick Wilcox-Brown
Nick Wilcox-Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2010, 10:54 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
So are you actually editing native Canon XF codec files, or does it have to transcode to ProRes?
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2010, 05:25 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 229
The plugin transcodes MXF to ProRes. Avid supports the native camera files, as I believe does Premiere CS5

If the fie structure is not maintained, the L&T plugin cannot see the MXF files

Nick.
__________________
Nick Wilcox-Brown
Nick Wilcox-Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2010, 11:33 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Hi Folks,

Can't confirm with FCP's Log and Transfer, but on Adobe CS5, Canon's MXFs files are indeed working.

Downloaded Nick's native MXFs clips last night and imported them into Premiere Pro. All clips (including audio) play fine.

@Nick--I believe all those clips are from the pre-production XF cam; are there downloadable clips from a production, working XF camera?

Thanks,
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2010, 01:09 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
I currently have a XF305 on loan to me.

As for Final Cut, I have FCP 7 (FCS3), and L&T sees the clips off the camera no problem. I can set in and out points too. I will try to capture a 3-5min clip, and see how well L&T scrubs with that.

My NXCAM loaner would lock up Final Cut (force quit needed), scrubbing thru footage.
Michael Assadourian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2010, 01:39 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Anselmo View Post
@Nick--I believe all those clips are from the pre-production XF cam; are there downloadable clips from a production, working XF camera?
Jeff, Sorry have not managed to get my hands on a production camera. To my knowledge there are no production clips around at this moment, but I suspect someone here with a new camera will be able to help?

Nick
Nick Wilcox-Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2010, 11:57 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Hi Nick,

Thank you for all your work and input on the XF! And really appreciate those clips!

And great work on the Morgan Video; it really showed the usefullness of the XF's stabilizer :)

Best,
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 12:23 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Wilcox-Brown View Post
The plugin transcodes MXF to ProRes. Avid supports the native camera files, as I believe does Premiere CS5

If the fie structure is not maintained, the L&T plugin cannot see the MXF files

Nick.
A bit bummed by this, but then it's Apple/FCP and that means QT or nothing at all. ProRes is great but just a huge disk space hog. I'd prefer editing native MXF and then export a sequence to ProRes for better quality retention. Drat.

Gonna take a much closer look at Premiere.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 04:21 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 229
Avid now looks like a clone of FCP and edits MXF natively....Oh and it supports ProRes too. Just a thought...

I'm sure the radically updated FCP, due at some point forwards will address these issues, but maybe not and perhaps iPhones and iMovie really are the Apple future?

Nick.
__________________
Nick Wilcox-Brown
Nick Wilcox-Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 01:50 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Wilcox-Brown View Post
Should just work, I can preview & set in/out in L&T with FCP 7 and the plugin.

The only weakness of the system is that the folder structure has to be kept intact, either on the card or, if you copy the card, keep the directory intact by copying the whole CONTENTS folder to disk.

On the mac, if you loose the structure, there is a big problem. Prem CS5 may be able to see the files - anyone?

Nick
Weird! All of a sudden I am able to view the files at Log & Transfer! :-)
__________________
Shuf
www.malaysiakini.tv
Shufiyan Shukur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 11:13 AM   #12
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mechelen Belgium
Posts: 1
Same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Wilcox-Brown View Post
Should just work, I can preview & set in/out in L&T with FCP 7 and the plugin.
I'm having the same problem as the original poster. But my files haven't suddenly appeared yet. I have tried everything, but it seems that there is no way to transfer to FCP without the plugin from Canon. We were able to use a new Canon, but there was no cd-rom with software in the package.

As the plugin is nowhere to be found on the internet, could I ask you, Nick, or another well-doer to put it online somewhere? We use FCP so I need the plugin for Mac.

Thanks in advance!
Jeroen Mestdag is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network