Recording error--how to recover files? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2010, 07:12 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Recording error--how to recover files?

The good news it the images from the XF are breathtaking. The bad news is that I have been getting recording errors with Transcend cards and one batch of files is missing the index file--and FCP will not read the file structure!
Does any one have any idea how to import/recover these files? I was using two Transcend 64gb cards and the weird thing was that early on I was not getting errors--now it happens every time I use them. Switched to a 32gb Sandisk Extreme no problems at all yet, but need the longer record times.
And now after a shoot in which the dreaded "recover data?" message came up repeatedly (the Transcend was my overflow card for a two hour shoot) the all important file structure seemed to have gotten messed up and I wonder if there is a work around.
Jeff Gibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2010, 07:31 AM   #2
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Jeff,

Have you tried using the Finder to drill down into the contents of the card and then dragging and dropping one of the MXF files directly into an FCP sequence? I've done that before just to see if it would work and it did. It would be time-consuming if you have a lot of clips, but at least you might recover the footage.

64 GB cards, huh? That's a lot of eggs in one basket. I prefer to use 16GB cards.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2010, 07:55 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Actually I already took the data off the cards and to a hard drive and only discovered the missing index file when I went to import. Card is already reformatted. The little index file has never been missing before. Weird. I am often on the road shooting for a week at a time and don't have the time to both move the files to a hard drive and transcode them.
Your right smaller cards might work better. It was fine on my 5d.
Jeff Gibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2010, 09:38 AM   #4
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Well, even if you've already moved the clips off of the card, that shouldn't make any difference.
Just find the MXF files on your hard drive and try my suggestion from there instead of from the card.
Whether the clips are on the card or a hard drive shouldn't matter.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2010, 10:52 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks Doug, no the Final Cut timeline didn't accept the MXF file; I tried it from a batch that FCP already read just fine and that didn't work so maybe I am doing something wrong.
When I drag the folder that contains the MXF file into the FCP media window it asks me to find the "translation document" and opens a finder window. When I cannot find any such thing (not sure what it is) and click cancel it gives an error message that says the "translation template" is missing.
Other than this one batch with the missing "index" file I have successfully load all the XF footage I have shot.
Jeff Gibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2010, 01:23 PM   #6
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Jeff,
I'm not sure if I can follow exactly what you are doing, but here's what I am able to do with FCP 7.0.3

1) Use the Finder to go to: Hard Drive > XF Backup Files > Contents > Clips001 > AA0001 > AA001.mxf

2) AA0001.mxf is a 1920x1080 50Mbps 30P clip.

3) I drag AA0001.mxf directly onto a new (empty) sequence in FCP.

4) FCP asks if I want to conform the sequence to match the clip.

5) I say yes, and the clip plays back perfectly on the time line.


That doesn't work for you?
What about clips that are not invovled in this problem? Do they work?
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network