Just Bought A Canon XF100... Need Help! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 5th, 2011, 04:15 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 30
Just Bought A Canon XF100... Need Help!

Hey everyone,

I just bought a Canon XF100 and this is my
first high end camera.

I ordered Doug Jensen's XF300 DVD and his
Interview DVD to get me up to speed.

I figure they should be close enough to get
me going.

Quick question, I can't seem to import the
XF files into Adobe Premiere CS5.

I can import them into Final Cut Pro
though.

I'm more comfortable with Adobe so I
have been capturing the files with FCP
and then opening the MOV capture
files in Adobe.

Not ideal...

Does anyone have any tips for importing
directly into Adobe?

I'm using a Sandisk Extreme Pro card with
a Lexar USB Card Reader.

It just sees the MXF files as audio only.

Another question...

Also, what are the best export settings for
an MP4 to stream on the web and YouTube?

I usually create a High Resolution master
Apple Pro Res 422 to a 1280 by 720 MOV.

And then convert the MOV to MP4 using
Quicktime Pro 7.

But the quality of the video loses some of
it's High Def look.

I can raise the data rate but won't that
slow down the playing of the video for
viewers on a slow connection?

I see good looking videos on YouTube so
can any one give me any tips for creating
good looking High Def with the XF100?

I have read the YouTube help guide which
isn't very helpful, LOL...

Well, thank for the tips and it's awesome
to be part of this great community.

I'm so glad I found this place.

I'm looking forward to everyones feedback.

Hopefully there is a better alternative than
Quicktime Pro.

Craig Beckta

Last edited by Craig Beckta; May 5th, 2011 at 04:17 PM. Reason: typo
Craig Beckta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2011, 06:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlingame, CA USA
Posts: 285
Re: Just Bought A Canon XF100... Need Help!

I heard that the camera comes with an import utility. Have you tried using that?
__________________
me@facebook: http://facebook.com/stevemallerphotography
Steve Maller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2011, 06:44 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Re: Just Bought A Canon XF100... Need Help!

Paging Dr. Pete Bauer -- the man who owns an XF100 plus Adobe CS5.

He has a pretty busy day job, but I'm sure he'll be along shortly...
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2011, 07:07 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Re: Just Bought A Canon XF100... Need Help!

Chris is right; I've been very busy with my day job lately so haven't spent nearly the amount of time learning the finer points of my XF105. I honestly haven't used the Canon XF Utility yet.

You also mention FCP. Is this happening on a Mac or a PC? I only have Windows-based machines so if this is a Mac problem I probably can't help.

I have been able to simply copy MXF files to both my main editing PC and a so-so laptop, both running CS5 under Win 7x64, and the MXF files behaved properly on the PPro timeline.

There is an acknowledged memory leak bug in PPro CS5 that causes problems with long sequences of Canon MXF, but my longest MXF sequence has been about an hour and I didn't notice anything amiss on my machine with 24GB of RAM. (BTW, Adobe did assess the bug and found that it involves third party components and goes pretty deep into the coding so deemed it impractical to patch it for CS5, but CS5.5 has updated components and that version does not have the bug).

It doesn't sound like this is the problem you're having, anyway. My best guess would be a missing or corrupt codec or dll.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2011, 05:41 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 30
Re: Just Bought A Canon XF100... Need Help!

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

Yes, I have used the Canon Utility.

I am on a imac.

Final Cut Pro imports the video
files no problem but Adobe does
not recognize the files.

Weird.

I guess I will keep importing them into
FCP and then editing them in Adobe.

I just wondered if importing the capture
MOV are any less quality.

Probably not.

Thanks for the info.

Craig
Craig Beckta is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network