Rode NTG-2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 10th, 2011, 07:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 223
Rode NTG-2

Has anyone used the Rode NTG-2 microphone on the XF300/305? I am thinking of getting one but read that some people where having issues with the fur on the deadcat getting into the picture on older XH A1.
Andy Solaini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2011, 12:40 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Re: Rode NTG-2

Andy,
I use the Audio-Technica AT897 on my 300 (with the Rycote) with no problems - and that mic is one millimeter longer than the Rode... :-)
__________________
TV Director / Cameraman

Last edited by Robin Davies-Rollinson; May 11th, 2011 at 04:40 PM.
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2011, 02:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Solaini View Post
Has anyone used the Rode NTG-2 microphone on the XF300/305? I am thinking of getting one but read that some people where having issues with the fur on the deadcat getting into the picture on older XH A1.
Andy, I used to have problems with the NTG-2 fur getting into the picture on the XHA1 if I used the camera bracket. I got a microphone mount which solved the problem. I'll take some pictures of it tomorrow and post them up.
Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2011, 03:17 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: Rode NTG-2

Andy,

Do you mean the actual Rode deadcat? It might be an idea to try something like a Rycote Softie, they are a bit neater with hair that is a lot less "straggly" and less prone to hang in the lens.

Disclaimer: I haven't tried it on the XF300!
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2011, 06:47 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 223
Re: Rode NTG-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syeed Ali View Post
Andy, I used to have problems with the NTG-2 fur getting into the picture on the XHA1 if I used the camera bracket. I got a microphone mount which solved the problem. I'll take some pictures of it tomorrow and post them up.
This is the bundle I am interested in and it comes with a mount. I'm not sure how it would fit into the XF300 though. I would be interested to see yours pics and how you mount yours.
Andy Solaini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2011, 06:50 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 223
Re: Rode NTG-2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Beckett View Post
Andy,

Do you mean the actual Rode deadcat? It might be an idea to try something like a Rycote Softie, they are a bit neater with hair that is a lot less "straggly" and less prone to hang in the lens.

Disclaimer: I haven't tried it on the XF300!
Mike I just looked and the Rycote is undeniably a good deadcat but is more than I was looking to pay for one really. The Rode one is included in the bundle, or about 30 separately.
Andy Solaini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2011, 07:15 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3
Re: Rode NTG-2

Some slight variation on the question. I have an NTG-1 mic on an XF100. If the mic were mounted in the provided bracket, the fur of the dead cat just barely enters the frame in the upper right. But since the bracket is for 25mm mics and the Rode is 22mm, it doesn't really fit. Rode makes a mount, Rode SM5 ($50USD at B&H) that is a shock mount and has a pole that fits into the Canon mounting bracket. This has the effect of raising the mic just enough that it doesn't enter the frame.

Click link to see the mount.

Rode SM5 - Shotgun Microphone Suspension SM5 B&H Photo Video


Regards,
Mark Kappes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2011, 03:08 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

Sorry Andy, haven't forgotten, just haven't had the time.

Have taken pics though and will upload them this weekend.
Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 01:23 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

Here goes.....

first pic:
I have 3 microphones.
Senheisser M<66
NGT2
NGT3


Rest of the pics show the NGT2 on the XF300.
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2-brooklands00002.jpg   Rode NTG-2-brooklands00003.jpg  

Rode NTG-2-brooklands00005.jpg   Rode NTG-2-brooklands00006.jpg  

Rode NTG-2-brooklands00007.jpg   Rode NTG-2-brooklands00008.jpg  

Rode NTG-2-brooklands00009.jpg  
Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 01:24 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

I got this from Rode.
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2-brooklands00011.jpg  
Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 01:26 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

And used it like this in the first picture.

Until someone told me a better way of using it (second and third pics).
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2-brooklands00012.jpg   Rode NTG-2-brooklands00013.jpg  

Rode NTG-2-brooklands00014.jpg  
Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 01:27 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

I also got this from rode as well. I don't really use it much as the wireless receiver is usually located there.
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2-brooklands00016.jpg  
Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 01:29 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

While I'm taking pictures......

I also got this cube thing which allows me to add three bits of equipment. I used to use this all the time until I got the shoulder mount from Olav.

If you do buy it, make sure you buy spare connector bits as well as they will break if they fall on the floor.
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2-brooklands00017.jpg   Rode NTG-2-brooklands00018.jpg  

Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 01:32 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 160
Re: Rode NTG-2

and lastly, Olavs shoulder mount.

Used it on both the XHA1 and the XF300.

I've spent a lot of money on various shoulder mount systems and Olavs' one is the best one for what I do and also the cheapest.

Pic shows part of the bracket that's attached to the camera. I connect the 2nd receiver there.

Hope the above info helps and sorry it took so long to post up.
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2-brooklands00019.jpg   Rode NTG-2-brooklands00020.jpg  

Syeed Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2011, 07:03 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 223
Re: Rode NTG-2

Many thanks for the pictures. I will definitely get the mount thing with the mic.

Andy S
Andy Solaini is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network