Double-Slot Recording at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 29th, 2011, 08:46 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 512
Double-Slot Recording

After having my first slight card glitch (small, but scary), I installed the XF300 firmware update.

Just wondering: how at ease should one feel with double-slot recording?

Two worries:

1. If one card fails, will that trick out the whole system and cause the other card to fail (in this case, there's really no improvement, since two failed cards isn't better than 1.

2. Is double-slot recording somehow putting more strain on the camera's processing? I'm amazed it can even do this, but is it risky?
__________________
Event Videography, New England
www.timothybakland.com
Tim Bakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2011, 12:15 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 78
Re: Double-Slot Recording

Hi Tim,

Just have to ask the question... why would you wait for a card glitch to install the firmware upgrade? I've been a Canon user for a LONG TIME, and their firmware upgrades are really pretty reliable... I can see waiting a day or so to see if there are any problems popping up, but upgrading really should be a priority.

What cards are you using? Are they on Canon's approved list for the camera for "works in all modes"? I would say that to use anything else puts your footage at risk. I have been shooting Canon still cameras for a long time (1DII, 1DIII, 5DII also video), and following Canon's recommendations, I have NEVER HAD A CARD GLITCH. EVER (OOPS - shouldn't have said that!!!!). I also always use name branded cards - almost always Sandisk, but one Lexar UDMA card for the 5DII shooting video. NEVER had a card glitch. Knock on wood (bangs on head). Also, I ALWAYS format/initialize cards after I upload (and check)the footage to a computer from a camera (still or video). Always. Never had an issue. Check the files on the computer to make sure you have uploaded everything, of course...

The double-slot recording sounds like a wise thing to do in a situation where 1) you have lots of cards, 2) you are in a do or die situation and HAVE to get the footage, and 3) normally wear both a belt and suspenders (sorry). If I were in a production shooting situation and it was the only camera, OR if I actually needed two copies of the footage for a client or for editing. I might shoot two cards at a time until I got to know/trust the camera... Also, you'd want to check the video regularly to see if there's a problem (could happen!).

I'm still getting to know this camera (also an XF300) and it is really an amazing beast. I've shot hundreds and hundreds of clips - no burps at all - but some USER error a few times, though, and shooting on two cards at a time would just mean I had two copies of my mistakes!

If one card fails, and it could happen, the other card continues the recording stream. Here's another thread on this issue: Error in double-slot recording mode?

Larry
Larry Becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2011, 12:25 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 512
Re: Double-Slot Recording

Larry --

I didn't give all the background. The card glitch (Sandisk Extreme Pro -- one of Canon's recommendations) was a freeze-on-import at a certain point late in the card and it actually occurred after being in the XF100. Who knows what triggered it... I will try the card again by initializing it and recording an empty room up and past the point (47 minutes) where the error on import occurred.

I had already made the upgrade with the XF300 firmware, but this little near-accident with the XF100 just reenforced the good in doing that.

But this thread was more a question of the smartness of actually doing the double-slot recording. Believe me: I would only use the best cards. And yes, like you, the XF300 has been an amazing boon for me.

Thanks for the response -- very helpful.
__________________
Event Videography, New England
www.timothybakland.com
Tim Bakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2011, 12:39 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Re: Double-Slot Recording

The dual slot recording is nice to have. See also:
Error in double-slot recording mode?
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2011, 01:42 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 78
Re: Double-Slot Recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Bakland View Post
Larry --

I didn't give all the background. The card glitch (Sandisk Extreme Pro -- one of Canon's recommendations) was a freeze-on-import at a certain point late in the card and it actually occurred after being in the XF100. Who knows what triggered it... I will try the card again by initializing it and recording an empty room up and past the point (47 minutes) where the error on import occurred.

I had already made the upgrade with the XF300 firmware, but this little near-accident with the XF100 just reenforced the good in doing that.

But this thread was more a question of the smartness of actually doing the double-slot recording. Believe me: I would only use the best cards. And yes, like you, the XF300 has been an amazing boon for me.

Thanks for the response -- very helpful.
The Extreme Pro is certainly the appropriate card. I use the Extreme model and they work well, too. It's possible you have a defective card. If I were you, I would certainly be warry now and go into "belt and suspenders" mode for a while.

I can't imagine having to always use double-slot recording, but in some high dollar/risk situations it's probably a wise thing. If you have enough cards, it might be a good idea, but kind of a pain! If the camera/media can't be trusted to work properly, there's a bigger problem here.

I haven't felt compelled to use the dual-slot recording feature. Any one else use it yet?

I was looking at your web site - NICE STUFF!!!!!

Larry
Larry Becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2011, 10:00 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 512
Re: Double-Slot Recording

Thanks for the nice words, Larry.

Belt and suspenders mode, no question (why not, right?).

Again, to be clear, this happened on the little brother camera, the XF100, and it could very well be the card, or a flukey thing. Still no problems otherwise and both cameras have given amazing results.
__________________
Event Videography, New England
www.timothybakland.com
Tim Bakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2011, 10:12 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 512
Re: Double-Slot Recording

Bought a couple more cards. Why not, right?

Can't tell you how nice it feels to have the XFs both double-slotting now.
__________________
Event Videography, New England
www.timothybakland.com
Tim Bakland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2011, 11:42 PM   #8
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Double-Slot Recording

So, can we say that DoubleDecking is akin to needing a Nano to ausage my paranoia?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2011, 12:56 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Re: Double-Slot Recording

Yes, I'd say so.
It's not likely (within Classical physics!) that both cards are going to fail at the same time, so you've probably just saved yourself a lot of money that you can now spend on other goodies!
__________________
TV Director / Cameraman
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network