Corrupt Clip at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 19th, 2013, 09:29 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Corrupt Clip

OK the very last clip of the night will not log & transfer in FCP 7.3. It shows up and I can play it but it has all zeros for in timecode and based on the previous clip then correct out time code.

Any thoughts on how to recover it? Might have to literally shoot the screen to get the shot!
Harry Pallenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2013, 07:00 AM   #2
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Re: Corrupt Clip

There are a number of things you can try, but one of them is to play back the clip in the camera and record the output with another device. You can also try using the camera to copy the clip over to another CF card and see if that fixes the problem.
Good luck.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2013, 11:06 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Re: Corrupt Clip

Upon further review I think I found the problem. I was recording with pre-record turned on, I stopped and restarted the camera in one second - less time than the 3 sec pre-record. this messed up the timecode on the in point to 0:00:00.

So now I understand what happened. Tried copying Card A to Card B - but it came across perfect with bad timecode an all... ended up doing a QT screen recording of the clip as I was 'ingesting' it. Not the best quality - audio suffered even more. This was all for FAST turn around. You can see the QT screen grab footage in the last interview shot :
Harry Pallenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2013, 11:19 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Re: Corrupt Clip

Upon further review I think I found the problem. I was recording with pre-record turned on, I stopped and restarted the camera in one second - less time than the 3 sec pre-record. this messed up the timecode on the in point to 0:00:00.

So now I understand what happened. Tried copying Card A to Card B - but it came across perfect with bad timecode an all... ended up doing a QT screen recording of the clip as I was 'ingesting' it. Not the best quality - audio suffered even more. This was all for FAST turn around. You can see the QT screen grab footage in the last interview shot :
Harry Pallenberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network