Which BNC cable from XH A1 to monitor to buy? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 7th, 2007, 03:08 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Which BNC cable from XH A1 to monitor to buy?

Hi,
Any suggestion of good brand for BNC cable to go between XH A1 and monitor JVC TMH-150CGU. Belkin?
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:08 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
They're all about the same. Get an extra one because all BNC connectors will eventually die.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:32 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor View Post
They're all about the same. Get an extra one because all BNC connectors will eventually die.
Die in what sence? The ends or does the cable not stand for "damage" like people walking over them?
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:43 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
People yank on the connectors, pull on them before twisting them all the way unlocked, etc., and eventually the connectors will come apart. If you're just using a short one to a camera-mounted monitor this probably won't be an issue, but if you do long run cables on location, they get abused, just like audio cables.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 07:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats Frendahl View Post
Hi,
Any suggestion of good brand for BNC cable to go between XH A1 and monitor JVC TMH-150CGU. Belkin?
Mats... How's the image quality with that monitor in general? Also do you have the optional component card installed? If so, is there much of a difference? I ask because the monitor is only rated at 750 lines. Just curious.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 12:22 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Busby View Post
Mats... How's the image quality with that monitor in general? Also do you have the optional component card installed? If so, is there much of a difference? I ask because the monitor is only rated at 750 lines. Just curious.

Bill
Bill, any other monitor to recommend that is better?
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 12:44 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Mats, I'm sure there are plenty that are "better", but I don't even know the JVC monitor you mentioned. That's why I asked a few questions earlier out of curiosity. Anyway you could answer those? :D

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 03:00 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Bill, I asked around about the Ikegami that I have seen "in the field" (they are about +200 USD compared to the JVC). Comments were made that "Ikegami is overpriced, look at JVC instead" - so I did. I have not seen the JVC in real life. Perhaps just better to stick with Ikegami?
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 07:45 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Just something to remember, you are shooting with an HD camera,
and the monitor you are looking at is SD.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 08:04 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Yes, good point.
HD monitors are however in another price range...
I'm only to use it as (remote) focus, zoom, white balance and "framing" monitor while "on field" recording. Will such a SD monitor work?
For real colour monitoring etc. I guess one would need another setup...
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 08:13 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 61
this has actually come up for a shoot we're planning.. what would be better to use on a HD monitor.. the bnc or the component?
David Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 08:25 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 164
>>what would be better to use on a HD monitor.. the bnc or the component?

The only way to monitor HD is through the Component out. The single
BNC on the side is composite video only.
__________________
will griffith
producer/editor
Will Griffith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network