iLife 08 import question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2007, 04:42 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: knoxville tn
Posts: 41
iLife 08 import question

Does anyone know if iLife 08 imports A1 footage without the earlier patch from Apple?

Don Jones
Knoxville, Tn.
Don Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2007, 02:43 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Drammen, Norway
Posts: 23
What patch?

Sven
Sven Ohrvik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 10:16 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: knoxville tn
Posts: 41
With the previous version of iLife, you had to purchase a download from Apple for the program to recognize the the camera. I may be wrong, but I thought that was the way it was. Just looking for a confirmation that this is no longer required.

Don
Don Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 11:30 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Claremore, Oklahoma
Posts: 131
That is INTERESTING!

Joseph
Joseph Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 04:57 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Drammen, Norway
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Jones View Post
With the previous version of iLife, you had to purchase a download from Apple for the program to recognize the the camera.

Don
Not me.
From iMovie HD, the A1 has been recognized all the time without downloading any patch.
(But when capturing from FCE, I have to disconnect anything but the camera from the FW bus).

(G5 Quad)

Bw
Sven
Sven Ohrvik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 09:17 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4
Today I plugged my new A1 into a tired old PowerBook and iMovie HD saw it just fine. Would only capture at 1/8 speed, but that's the fault of the slow processor. Otherwise it worked.
Stan Orchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 09:20 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: knoxville tn
Posts: 41
Maybe that is what I was trying to remember, not sure. Anyway, I haven't tried to download any footage from my A-1 because I didn't think it would work without the $50.00 purchase. I've been saving my pennies for the new suite.

Don
Don Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network