Timelapse photography and A1 via LANC? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 16th, 2007, 03:35 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
Timelapse photography and A1 via LANC?

Is it possible to shoot time-lapse with some LANC controller that triggers the photo function of the A1. I mean is there a LANC controller intervalometer that can activate the photo function of A1.

Thanks in advance,
T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2007, 02:41 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 94
Here are some options:
http://www.bmumford.com/photo/spec.html
http://www.pixcontroller.com/
__________________
-- Larry Chapman
Larry Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2007, 04:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
And yet another option. (I have this one...works great)

http://www.pclix.com
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 02:12 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
Thanks Dearl, are you using the Pclix with A1? If so what camera cable I need to order for A1?

Thanks in advance,
T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 02:54 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 106
Adobe OnLocation lets you do it. I haven't tried it, mind...

http://www.adobe.com/products/premie...ion/?xNav=PPOL

Edit: Ah, duh. You wanted to use the picture function. This captures a frame at a time and generates video for you.
__________________
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night."
-- Edgar Allan Poe
Even Solberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 08:15 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
I should have read your question more slowly. I only focused on the "Photo Function" part....The PClix is for DSLRs (Nikon, Canon, etc). I use it with a Nikon D80 to take a sequecnce of still images (usually about 900 for a 30 sec clip) then import those images into PPro2 as a sequence. That part works great. Sorry to have introduced additional confusion.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 07:25 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
Does the infrared remote from EOS DSLR work with A1?

I was wondering that if it is possible to trigger the photo function with an infrared EOS DSLR (Rebel etc) remote it is also possible to trigger it with Pclix.
Or if DSLR can be triggered with A1 remote.

Would it work? Can someone confirm that A1`s remote can trigger other Canon cameras and camcorders too?

It would give HDV shooters a chance to capture timelapses with the same settings and optics as usual footage.

Thanks in advance,
T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 10:45 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Test of PCLix with the XH A1

Toenis, hope this isn't too late but I have a PCLix and a cable for connecting it to the EOS 400D SLR.

I'm going to see if I can fire the XH A1 using the PCLix in photo mode writing to the SD memory card. I'll try with infrared and with the cable.

Will get back to you and let you know if it worked...
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2009, 03:56 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Been in touch with the guys at PCLix and they are trying to prepare a camcorder shutter firing program for the PCLix. But they can't promise they will get it to work.

If they do get it going existing PCLix devices will need a firmware upgrade. Will post details here if it happens.

Still haven't tried firing my XH A1 with the PCLix in its current form yet.
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 03:57 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Doesn't work. Infra-red or with the cable I have.
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network