Color calibration on external monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 25th, 2007, 10:35 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Color calibration on external monitor

I tested to connect my Dell 24" via RGB component to the A1.
Worked fine.
Now comes the tricky part. How do I "tune" the monitor so exactly show what the A1 is transmitting and not something "tweeked" in the monitor?
I have a PAL A1 so "Bars" is the colour bars, but no "smaller fields" below that I have seen is used for setting blue-points (or whatever). Is there any way to let the A1 transmit a "pure calibration" image on which the monitor can be tuned?
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 11:24 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich Germany , Singapore ,NSW Australia
Posts: 419
go to this link. It tells you a set by step detail of how to do it.

http://www.videouniversity.com/tvbars2.htm
David Chia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 11:47 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chia View Post
go to this link. It tells you a set by step detail of how to do it.

http://www.videouniversity.com/tvbars2.htm
The problem is that the A1 does not output this bar screen.
Will the instrucitons still work?
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 11:54 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Andover, Ma
Posts: 102
my NTSC A1 has this bar. But you can also get this color bar file and load into you computer, put it in you NLE timeline, connect to your A1 thru 1394, then this bar will show on your camera monitor or VF
Juni Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 12:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juni Zhao View Post
my NTSC A1 has this bar. But you can also get this color bar file and load into you computer, put it in you NLE timeline, connect to your A1 thru 1394, then this bar will show on your camera monitor or VF
I think that the NTSC A1 and PAL have different colour bars.

Vegas can display all kinds of bars, so I guess I have to use that option, going via A1 to TV. Too bad that Canon did not include both bar screens.
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 06:28 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Valadares - Portugal
Posts: 24
Hi Matts,

I also have a PAL A1. Please feed your monitor with the type2 color bars from your A1. You find that on the customize menu of your camera. Now you can tune your monitor but for that please read this article first at http://www.videouniversity.com/tvbars2.htm

Regards
Jose Ramada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2007, 08:36 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 126
Thanks Jose,

Will try it. I have found some video-lectures on the Net too. None were any good. It does take some effort to make good video-tutorial. The ones I looked at spent most time talking about non-valid information and then, when time ran out, tried to squeeze it all down in the time remaining. (And some persons simply do not go well on video...). A paper, as the link you gave, is always (well, in most situations) better.
Mats Frendahl is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network