Stable footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 18th, 2007, 10:19 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Stable footage

Has anyone tried this software to take out the shake in HDV footage?

Mercalli Version: 1.0
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 12:35 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
link: http://www.prodad.de/gb/mercalli_std_details.html
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 02:10 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Cole have you used Mercalli software?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 05:37 PM   #4
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Okay, I just have to say that I was expecting to see some shots of horses in this thread :)

I need coffee.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 06:50 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Dempsey View Post
Okay, I just have to say that I was expecting to see some shots of horses in this thread :)

I need coffee.
Try getting stable footage in a psych ward.
Dennis Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 08:27 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cronin View Post
Cole have you used Mercalli software?
nope, just googled a link as there were none provided...I'm on a mac, the software seems to be a PC solution.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 10:19 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Cole thank you for the link.

Still looking to see if anyone has tried this software?

I will download the demo and take the time to check it out.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 10:41 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Topanga, CA
Posts: 139
Cole,

If you don't have FCS 2 which has the very capable
Smoothcam, you might look into iStabilize.
I have not tested it deeply, and it certainly is not as
robust as Smoothcam, but it seems to have some
good possibilities.
Perhaps there are others who have tried it who
can speak about it in more detail.

David
David McGiffert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 12:54 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Thanks for the recommendations. I got shake a while back and it fulfills all of my needs...in fact I think it's where they pulled the smoothcam and stabilizers from for FCS2. FCS1 doesn't have them, nor any of the optical flow stuff which came from Shake...it hit Compressor first in FCS1 for changing frame rates.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2007, 11:18 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 347
I download the expert version and seems to work good with my A1 footage. I'm using cineform and works good. It is providing more correction alternatives and better results than stadymove. I was comparing the same timeline with the two different filters.I will provide more details later. I'm in the midle of a Editing a wedding and I think that have some shaky footage to try this new plug. Price is awesome comparing the steaadymove price.
Jose Ortiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2007, 11:53 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Purchased the expert version and it works well with Avid Liquid 7.2. Loads of options quick rendering and real time viewing all for $119.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 12:59 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
I have to ask one question, though...

In the following clip - http://www.prodad.de/anim/mercalli/m...aris-dakar.wmv - how did they manage to "stabilize" the one part where the jeep nearly goes all the way off the screen (about 1.5 seconds into it)...although in the stabilized version it doesn't...??
Bryan Gilchrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 03:38 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
I've thought the same thing & was easy to conclude it's impossible. :)

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 06:58 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Both clips of the jeep look to be the same size which leads me to the following. There is an option in Mercalli that lets you zoom in when rendering so you remove the blurred out edges after stabilization. I bet the clip on the left is cropped so it looks the same size as the stabilized clip on the right which Mercalli cropped while rendering. If you are staying in HDV for out put it will show a resolution loss. But if you go from HDV to SD with the stabilized clip it is very hard to see the resolution loss. I am still very new to the software but this would be my best guess to answer your question. This option is only in the expert version.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 09:53 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 302
Im using the Expert Version with PP CS3 on a Matrox Rt.x2 system and I am getting some strange effects when using the Mercalli plugin. I am getting what looks like motion blur in various spots on the video when in the original there is none. I am wondering if it might be some conflict with matrox codec or something.

I am using HDV footage from my XH-A1, Any suggestions?

Steve
Steve Montoto is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network