A few questions from a new XH A1 owner at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 21st, 2007, 10:52 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
A few questions from a new XH A1 owner

1. Is it possible to attach an M2 without the support rails and use it efficiently? I don't have the money for the 1200 dollar rig yet.

2. What is your favorite preset?

Thanks!
Ben Waller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 02:35 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Guildford UK
Posts: 18
Can't help with the M2.
Favourite preset is Steven Dempseys VIVIDRGB.

Trev
Trevor Bray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 08:41 AM   #3
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
I would positively not use the M2 without rails.
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 01:04 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 12
well then...

is there a way to buy an inexpensive rail system and/or achromat? or do I need the achromat at all?

thanks for all your help!

EDIT: I'm going to be using Nikon Bayonet mount lenses
Ben Waller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 04:06 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
My info was that you do need the achromat so the camera can focus properly on the screen. There are lots of rail systems out there. Check B&H.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2007, 01:22 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: LA/SFV
Posts: 155
Images: 2
If you don't want a rail system look at the brevis. I would recommend a rail system no matter what, but you can use the brevis and the letus without a rail system.
Derek Nickell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2007, 10:29 PM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Remember, you have the Brevis and then whatever different lenses you add. That's a lot of weight far out from the body. I definitely wouldn't do it without rails. I seriously doubt that on a camera the size of the XH A1 they over-engineer the lens mount for much more than a lens hood and a filter. Most everybody that adds a mattebox with more than one filter slot also uses rails.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 04:44 PM   #8
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bozeman Montana
Posts: 4
I don't have an m2 but i do have a letus extreme and its much cheaper and in my preference just better for the price you could try one of there rigs there definently a great buy!
__________________
I LOVE NOT MAN LESS BUT CAMERA MORE
Cole Marr is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network