What is this problem? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2007, 03:02 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Andover, Ma
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Williams View Post
Mmmm... you don't mean the composite video ouput that sends the video out over the yellow RCA cable right? I must have missunderstood, long day...
I meant the composite cable with yellow RCA jack that came along with the camera... :-)
Juni Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 03:08 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juni Zhao View Post
I meant the composite cable with yellow RCA jack that came along with the camera... :-)
Well, now then we're talking about an interlaced video being piped across a cable that supports around 240 lines of resolution, then upscale that entire questionable video signal to 1080i and... well, there you go :)
__________________
www.philipwilliams.com
Philip Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 03:11 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Also, watching a commercial DVD on an HDTV connected via component or HDMI is going to look gorgeous. The DVD player, if it's one so enabled, is going to upconvert to HD, whereas the component yellow cable is going to be piping pure SD.

C
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 03:23 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Andover, Ma
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Williams View Post
Well, now then we're talking about an interlaced video being piped across a cable that supports around 240 lines of resolution, then upscale that entire questionable video signal to 1080i and... well, there you go :)
I hope you found what my problem is :-), however, let me post another picture:
http://channeldv.com/public/mpg2compressed.JPG

This one was taken from the same TV with a component cable connected to the DVD. The video was compressed to mpeg2 using Cinema Craft Encoder (the most expensive and the best software encoder out there), but the result is pretty much the same. Another enlightenment please :-)
Juni Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 03:35 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 50
are these lines visible in the original footage when viewed on your computer monitor when editing?
Rob Stoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 03:46 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juni Zhao View Post
The TV is just a regular plasma 42" 1080i, so I assume it's 1920x1080. The thing is: when it plays regular commercial DVD it's just nice and smooth. I don't get why there is such a difference....
There is 0% chance your 42" Plasma is 1920X1080, no such thing.

If it is 0 to 2 years old it is probably 1024X768.

If it is 1 to 3 years old it is probably 852X480.
__________________
Panasonic HMC150/Canon A1/JVC HD1/Sony Vegas 8.0c
Jeff Kellam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 03:49 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Andover, Ma
Posts: 102
OK, here is a pic I captured from my NLE:
http://channeldv.com/public/original.bmp
The wires are still jagged. Any comment?
Juni Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 04:00 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
The flag isn't looking too good either.

Shoot HDV and downconvert.

Shooting SD with the A1 is heresy.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 04:01 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 50
my guess is that the wires were twisted. it is very rare that cables that are hung are just hanging and not twisted around a guide wire. either that or it is interlacing artifacts. either way this means that it is part of your source footage and not an artifact that is introduced by compression or the tv.
Rob Stoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 04:11 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Andover, Ma
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Stoner View Post
my guess is that the wires were twisted. it is very rare that cables that are hung are just hanging and not twisted around a guide wire.
Hehe, this is the New England Style wire hanging.....
Juni Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 04:12 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Andover, Ma
Posts: 102
here is another pic using Sony Z1U,
http://channeldv.com/public/original_z1u.bmp

So can I say this problem is a universal problem with all HDV camera when SD is used?
Juni Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 04:20 PM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juni Zhao View Post
here is another pic using Sony Z1U,
http://channeldv.com/public/original_z1u.bmp

So can I say this problem is a universal problem with all HDV camera when SD is used?

That's awful.

"Hehe, this is the New England Style wire hanging....."

I don't see any witches dangling from them?
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 04:20 PM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Andover, Ma
Posts: 102
http://channeldv.com/public/original_z1u2.bmp
this is a better pic with Z1U, I deinterlaced the still....
Juni Zhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 05:35 PM   #29
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juni Zhao View Post
The TV is just a regular plasma 42" 1080i, so I assume it's 1920x1080. The thing is: when it plays regular commercial DVD it's just nice and smooth. I don't get why there is such a difference....
Sorry my question wasn't relevant. Didn't notice you were using SD.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 05:37 PM   #30
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Kellam View Post
There is 0% chance your 42" Plasma is 1920X1080, no such thing.

Hi Jeff. Why do you say this? We have these "Full HD" plasma sets for sale in Singapore. They're not as common as Full HD LCDs but you can get them no problem.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network