External monitor connection at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 27th, 2007, 05:23 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bristol
Posts: 9
External monitor connection

I'm wanting to buy a small external monitor so that a PA can note timecode. Monitors that have BNC connections are rare (and expensive) so what connections should a monitor have?

I have one with a small a/v socket (like the yellow a/v socket on the XH-AH1) but it doesn't display the picture - only sound.
Philip Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 06:43 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
You could just use a small computer monitor (with component inputs) plugged in to the component out form the A1. I recently did a shoot using my 24" Dell in this way and found it incredibly useful. I know these LCD's are not perfect for checking broadcast colour etc, but all my video is destined for Web delivery and I know how it should look on my Dell so for me, it's perfect :)

You can choose to have all of the LCD display info (inc timecode) sent to the component out monitor in the A1's menu.

Paul.
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 11:58 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 106
Paul,

I was just wondering about this because I'm just about to buy the Dell 24" monitor (2407WFP-HC) for editing. Since I'll use it for that, I was thinking to give it double-duty as an external monitor for the camera.

Do you find it to be a great help for focusing especially?
Greg Joyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2007, 01:01 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
You bet, focusing is a peice of cake with the 24" plugged in, in fact that's the reason I used it as I needed a good focus for an interview which was being shot very close in the the guys face, and I struggle with the tiny little LCD on the A1.

The Dell 24" is especially good as it's displaying in full non scaled resolution. It also really impressed the client who couldn't believe the detail coming from the camera :)

Not that practical though, If I found I had to use it a lot I'd probably invest in some kind of hard case for it, I just used the box it came in that time but I'm sure they wouldn't survive any kind of drop or other knock.

Paul
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2007, 10:24 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Auckland
Posts: 5
Hey Paul,

Would you recommend these for Video Editing and also how colour accurate do you find them. I plan to shoot a short film the A1 and at this point am a bit confused on which external lcd to purchase. I know that ikan does a nice range but i just love the idea of 24" & full non scaled resolution. Any suggestions.
Many Thanks

Marko
Marko Los is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2007, 10:46 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: california
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Jones View Post
I'm wanting to buy a small external monitor so that a PA can note timecode. Monitors that have BNC connections are rare (and expensive) so what connections should a monitor have?

I have one with a small a/v socket (like the yellow a/v socket on the XH-AH1) but it doesn't display the picture - only sound.

yellow is actually a video in/ out color. is your cabel and/ or plug ok?
Karl Heiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2007, 11:27 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Check out the Element FLX-1910 19" LCD TV.

It doesn't have a BNC connection, but it does have an HDMI and a HD-RGB connection as well as a Coax, VGA and standard RCA inputs.

If anything, you can get a BNC to Coax coupler.

You can also mount it to an LCD monitor stand that can be had for about $80.

The 1910 is available at most electronics stores.
Bryan Gilchrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 02:40 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Markos.....

I'm assuming the Auckland in your ID is in NZ?

The Dell 24" is a great computer monitor, no doubt. Can't be faulted on that score.

As a "Colour check" device, it's absolutely useless, when connected to a standard PC via DVI.

The colour adjustments just aren't there to get it anywhere close to "real life" for video, not suprising as it is designed as a computer monitor, not a broadcast reference monitor.

A "bog standard" HDTV telly will do a better job, as at least it will tell you what "Joe Blow" will see on his HDTV. Yep, it will be miles out from what a broadcast reference monitor will show, but guess what?

Yer average "Joe Blow" watches telly on a bog standard telly, not a broadcast reference monitor! (Funny that.)

Even the Beeb (the BBC for those not in the know) runs all their O/P through about a dozen "bog standard" tellies to ensure that their airy fairy broadcast monitors actually allow them to produce something watchable to "Joe Blow" on his el - cheapo standard telly (with all the faults and foibles they are built with).

If you want to check what your video is going to look like "real life", get a standard display for the format and watch it on that, there is really no better way to do it.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 07:23 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Watch out

I use the Dell with the A1 connected through the component connection and it's amazing for focus and see what's happening during composition of the picture. But WATCH OUT! The Dell does NOT show you the entire picture. Whatever resolution you will use you do NOT have the margin correctly. Which means the boom or something else might not appear on the Dell but will be in the final picture. Trust me on this one. To really see what's included in your composition you either need to use a different monitor or the LCD on the cam. But for focus and checking details far from the frames the Dell is amazing. Now, the colors are completely off on the Dell, I mean, way off. As far as I can tell it looks too red.
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 09:14 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Secrest View Post
The Dell does NOT show you the entire picture. Whatever resolution you will use you do NOT have the margin correctly.
Have you set the component input to 1:1 (no-scaling)? I haven't noticed this happening at all, but then I didn't look for it either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Secrest View Post
Now, the colors are completely off on the Dell, I mean, way off. As far as I can tell it looks too red.
Agreed, the colour is not like a TV, it's a computer monitor. If your producing TV content then it won't do at all for colour checking, but then none of my content is destined for TV's, it's mostly web based so I like that I'm seeing the video on the same screen I use to edit on and view the Internet on too.
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 06:47 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Auckland
Posts: 5
great another kiwi!!!

Hey Chris,

Cheers!!! Yes you got it I am from Auckland,
I guess that answers a lot of questions I had regarding the Dell monitor.
I am still also looking for a good LCD that I could do accurate color grading with.
There are devices available that cost between $300-$800 that calibrate any monitor. I know somebody that owns one so will try and do a test.

Larry,
Thanks for the info, you bet the dell would be awesome for manual focusing as opposed to the A1's tiny lcd,

Marko
Marko Los is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 07:48 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Jones View Post
I have one with a small a/v socket (like the yellow a/v socket on the XH-AH1) but it doesn't display the picture - only sound.
There is a little switch between the composite BNC and composite RCA jack
(yellow) switch it to the direction of the RCA jack and you should be good to go.
Also... make sure and open the menu of the H1 and turn on "TV Screen"
under display and select the proper aspect ratio.

That should allow you to use your monitor.
__________________
will griffith
producer/editor
Will Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 07:38 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
What does "TV Screen" have to do with aspect ratio? TV Screen simply superimposes whatever info is displayed over video... basically duplicates what is on the A1's lcd & viewfinder.
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 01:02 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gainesville, VA, USA
Posts: 327
Larry,

You're right about the Dell monitor not showing the complete picture. However, the LCD on the camera does not show the complete picture either!

I've been burnt by this (the lcd on the camera) on my first shoot, where once transferred to the PC I could see the mic sticking into the frame. Now this matters to those of us whose footage is intended for Web/Computer viewing.
Shiv Kumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2007, 01:09 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
That's what the guides are for in the display menu... safe area markers.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network