Help: XH-A1 Pulsing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2007, 11:01 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 77
Help: XH-A1 Pulsing

I have been noticing that in some of my shots there is a sort of pulsing to the image as if the whole image is moving very slightly up and down. I am sooting 30f, 1/60th shutter speed, manual iris, manual focus, have the camera on a tripod with Image Stabilization turned off, and am lighting a static subject with Lowel Tota lights, etc. Also, I am also using the Vivid RGB preset. The problem seems more pronounced at wide angles. Any ideas why the image is vibrating slightly?

Thanks,
Hugh
Hugh Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 11:45 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
How are you viewing the image?
From tape, capture to a NLE, or live camera?
Any transcoding involved?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 01:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Palomaki View Post
How are you viewing the image?
From tape, capture to a NLE, or live camera?
Any transcoding involved?
Thanks for your response. I am capturing from tape to FCP 5.1.4 via Firewire.

I think I have found the problem. It seems that the image movement is only in the Log and Capture preview window. Once the clip has been captured the movement goes away. Why would the Log & Capture preview show the footage vibrating like it does?

Thanks,
Hugh
Hugh Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 01:53 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
You can't judge the footage by the capture window. That's a low res image and I don't think it always plays every frame. It's just for reference, really, so you know you're capturing.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 07:27 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
I vote with Bill. I don't know FCP, but in general NLE capture or preview windows are not suitable for judging image quality. Best to judge by how it looks in a final product type viewing situation.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network