Problem with playback at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2007, 01:17 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 49
Problem with playback

I need some help. I returned from a trip where I shot 11 tapes, all at 1080/30F. I have ingested all but one. I cannot get it to play back from the camera. When I press play, the timecode moves up a few seconds, then stops. The green arrow remains on but the screen is blue. When I press stop, the counter increments like the tape was playing. If I press play and then the fast forward button and hold it down, I see the video scan by in the viewfinder. When I let go of the fast forward, I just get the blue screen. All of the other tapes play fine. I don't think this one is recorded differently. This problems occurs whether or not it is attached to the computer. Any help is appreciated.

Clay
Clay K. Carson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 01:58 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 722
I had a very similar problem using my HV20 to capture footage from the A1. The tape would play fine on the A1, but not the HV20, but all the other tapes I had recorded the same day with the same settings worked fine. It had the same blue screen with the weird timecode problem that you have.

I simply ran a cleaning tape through the HV20 after hours of trying to troubleshoot the problem otherwise, and the cleaning tape worked. Not sure exactly what caused the problem initially, but I haven't had a problem since. It may or may not work for you, but could be worth a try.

Good luck
Nick Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 06:31 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 49
Thanks. I tried a cleaning tape with no luck. This is very strange
Clay K. Carson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2007, 05:11 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Could it be you've switched your playback settings for some reason? If the tape was recorded, say, HDV 24f, then if your playback is set to SD, it won't play, and vice versa. But I think you get a message when that happens, so that's probably not it but worth a look.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2007, 10:16 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 49
I looked carefully and can't see any changes I made. I drop in this tape and it will not play. I drop in any other tapes I have shot, including the ones shot immediately before and after, they play fine. Drop this tape back in and no go. I am really stumped but appreciate the ideas. Please keep them coming.

Clay
Clay K. Carson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2007, 12:09 PM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
This is getting really bizarre. I'd say the next step would be to see if you can find somebody with another camera and see if it will play the tape. It's starting to look to me as if maybe the tape itself has some problem. If you get another camera and the tape doesn't play, that would sort of prove it's the tape and not the camera; if it plays OK, that could indicate a camera problem.

It still looks to me almost like a head alignment issue, but I don't think it's possible for heads to suddenly go out of alignment and then suddenly go back to where they belong.

One thing you could try is if you can't find another camera, maybe go to some consumer store that might have an HV20 or HV10 and say you have the same camera and it won't play and see if they'd let you try your tape in their camera just to determing if you have a camera problem. Might work.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2007, 12:20 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 49
I was thinking the same thing. I will call the local rep and borrow another camera to test.

Clay
Clay K. Carson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2007, 08:30 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Clay,
This is not an unusual problem when there are problems. Unfortunately there isn't a Canon studio deck for HDV 30F footage which might be able to compensate for the errors in the recording like the Sony DSR-2000 could with DV tapes. If another camera can't play back the tape you should call Canon and see if they have any suggestions. It sounds like an alignment error happened during the recording and there is no tracking knob to adjust the camera to find the proper signal.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network