HDV Deck compatible with A1 "frame" recording - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 27th, 2006, 10:48 AM   #46
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Conway, NH
Posts: 574
24f/30f: do you need a special deck to play this?

What kind of deck do you use to feed an NLE if you shoot in 30f/24f? The interlaced Sony HDV decks or the progressive JVC HDV deck?
Bill Edmunds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2006, 11:33 AM   #47
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Neither. Use the Canon HV10 consumer HV10 camcorder as a playback deck. It's the only thing other than an XL H1 or XH A1 / G1 that can play back 24F or 30F video. There's about a dozen threads about this already, so look to those discussions for the specific details. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2007, 10:39 AM   #48
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Capturing A1 footage with HV10?

I am planning to capture my A1 footage using the HV10 as playback "deck". Are there any objections against this?
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2007, 11:04 AM   #49
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 151
It seems to be the standard workflow. Just got my hv10, it's a great little cam and pretty robust as a feeder deck (tested sd dv material ingested into FCP). My A1 is on its way, so I haven't done it first hand, but I did my homework and many people use it as a feeder deck for the A1, which seems to be Canon's intent, as it does play out Canon's 24f format, though it will not shoot in it.
Stu Siegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2007, 11:39 AM   #50
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
It plays Frame mode and supports 4-channel audio playback as well. As has been stated on this forum numerous times already, it's the closest thing to a feeder deck that you can get.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 03:59 PM   #51
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada!
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Siegal
... which seems to be Canon's intent, as it does play out Canon's 24f format, though it will not shoot in it.
WOW!!! It plays it but doesn't shoot in 24f... now that is brilliant of them imo. For significantely less then the cost of an HDV deck, you have a 24F deck that doubles as a killer b-roll/b-cam/vacation cam. *Slowly releasing the grip of my beloved HC1*... :)
__________________
dreaming hobbyist + storyteller
www.michaelywong.com
Michael Y Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 07:30 PM   #52
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Y Wong
WOW!!! It plays it but doesn't shoot in 24f... now that is brilliant of them imo. For significantely less then the cost of an HDV deck, you have a 24F deck that doubles as a killer b-roll/b-cam/vacation cam. *Slowly releasing the grip of my beloved HC1*... :)
I'm still wondering about how mastering an entire short/feature back to tape and playing the content via Component out would fair. I mean, you'd literally be playing back the project via a Hi-Def signal, right?
Kholi Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 07:48 PM   #53
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada!
Posts: 353
^^

Yes and imo it looks killer in 1080i. One of the first things EVERYONE says when wathcing one of my finshsed products in 1080i is 'LOOK @ THE QUALITY'!

Of cousre I keep my workflow simple and NEVER go beyond 1 generation of degradation.
__________________
dreaming hobbyist + storyteller
www.michaelywong.com
Michael Y Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 11:46 PM   #54
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Works fine as a deck for my G1. I just shot some stuff today, and was happy not having to break down the cam to capture. Just grabbed the tape and headed to the edit bay. The HV10's small footprint on my crowded desk was a blessing as well. Taking up no more space than and empty big mac container... maybe I should clean up around here... nah.
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 08:39 AM   #55
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
So most of you are having good luck with this little guy? I know the theoretical abililities of it, but in my short experience the unit was unstable for capturing. What I mean is it would stop playing a lot. I had 2 one hour long tapes to capture and I would leave the room 10 minutes into a capture and come back and it would have mysteriously stopped completely. The capture app (Cineform HDlink) was still running and waiting for a bitstream but the camera was stopped. I couldn't get more than 10-12 monites to capture without it stopping.This happened repeatedly for 3-4 hours until I finally decided to capture with the A1, which worked flawlessly.

I ended up going back to an XL-H1 so I had to return the A1 and HV10.

I am still on the fence about getting another HV-10 because of this. But it sounds promising that you are all having success. Maybe I just had a bad one.

Peace!
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 03:23 PM   #56
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 186
yeah Marty, mine did this too yesterday whilst playing out to a DVD burner - just stopped for no reason every so often. and it didn't do it every time either, what could this be? has anyone else had this?
Gary Barr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 04:07 PM   #57
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eagle Mountain, Utah
Posts: 97
I'm gonna wait for the HV20. It will be able to shoot 24p.
Eric Hansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 07:43 PM   #58
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 99
Any HDV decks work with A1?

We're looking to buy an A1, but are there any HDV decks that work with it completely right now (in both 60i, 24f, 30f)? I haven't found any yet. I see four potential options right now...

1. Just use the A1 as a deck. Disadvantage: wears out heads.

2. Buy a HV20 and use it as a deck instead. Not an ideal work environment, but I'd have a small, compact B-camera. $1099.

3. Buy the FireStore FS-C. Recognizes and records 60i, 30f, 24f video, correct? At least it will with the 2.1 firmware upgrade. Advantage: Tape-less work-flow. No capturing. $1249 for 60GB (4.5 hours of HDV).

4. Buy Sony's HVR-M15U deck for $1799. It will capture 60i, not 24f or 30f. Buy some other deck that's out there that works with 24f and 30f, and I just don't know about it? Or are there none?

Does this all sound correct? Are there any other options?
__________________
"Who's scruffy lookin'?"
http://www.amfproductions.com
Bryan Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 10:40 PM   #59
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Frequently asked, Bryan. Please refer to several other existing threads which already discuss this exact topic, and post any replies to those specific threads. Many people choose option #2.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2007, 03:38 PM   #60
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 25
Best Cheap HDV cam to use as A1 VCR?

I plan to shoot about 50 hours of tape, is it okay to use my A1 as a VCR for video capture, or should I invest in a seperate cam? I can't afford a tape deck, but I was wondering if the Canon HV20 is a good VCR cam for the A1? Will it be able to handle the stream without dropping frames?

Thanks
Ario Damghani is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:53 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network