Failure to Recognize in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 24th, 2007, 07:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 64
Failure to Recognize in FCP

Hey there!

I'm going a little bit out of my mind. I'm trying to capture some SD 16:9 30F footage off my XH-A1, and FCP (5.1.4) is not recognizing it at all. Ironically, it recognized it under the HDV 1080i60 setting, though I had no picture (which was when I realized I was in the wrong capture setting). Now I can't get it to recognize the camera at all. Unless the firewire cable suddenly, randomly froze (and I tried a second cable to check) I have no idea what's going on. I've tried getting it to recognize under different settings/tapes, and now nothing. I'm going nuts!
Any ideas?
__________________
Byron Huskey
Rhapsodist Productions
"Film as dream, film as music. No art passes our conscience in the way film does, and goes directly to our feelings, deep down into the dark rooms of our souls." - Ingmar Bergman
Byron Huskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2007, 07:59 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Make sure your camera is set to the SD playback mode. Go to the FCP easy setup and pick the right SD one. You may have to turn off the camera, unplug it from the computer, turn it on, change the setting, turn it off, plug it in again, turn it on, then go pick your easy setup, then go to capture mode. You may have to restart FCP after you change the setup.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2007, 09:05 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 64
Hmm...no luck. I'm trying the DV NTSC Anamorphic, and no luck. Is that wrong?
__________________
Byron Huskey
Rhapsodist Productions
"Film as dream, film as music. No art passes our conscience in the way film does, and goes directly to our feelings, deep down into the dark rooms of our souls." - Ingmar Bergman
Byron Huskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 03:36 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Drammen, Norway
Posts: 23
Do you have anything else but the camera connected to the FW bus?

Sven
Sven Ohrvik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 03:43 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 64
Yes, my Capture Scratch Disk is also hooked up to the same Firewire hub. It's never been a problem before. I did just upgrade to Leopard, and I'm wondering if that's part of it.
__________________
Byron Huskey
Rhapsodist Productions
"Film as dream, film as music. No art passes our conscience in the way film does, and goes directly to our feelings, deep down into the dark rooms of our souls." - Ingmar Bergman
Byron Huskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 04:01 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Drammen, Norway
Posts: 23
OK.
I would try this:
First choose the DV NTSC FireWire Basic easy setup in FCP. Then power down the computer. Disconnect the external disc. Connect the camera. Boot up the computer. Put the camera in VCR/Play mode. Then start FCP.

Bw
Sven
Sven Ohrvik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 04:50 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 64
Good advice. I ended up restarting the computer first (without the other steps) for a different reason, then tried it: viola! I feel silly now for missing this relatively simple option, but I suppose it did not occur to me that a Mac would need to restart it's hardware for the software to work. My bad. CASE (sort of) CLOSED.
__________________
Byron Huskey
Rhapsodist Productions
"Film as dream, film as music. No art passes our conscience in the way film does, and goes directly to our feelings, deep down into the dark rooms of our souls." - Ingmar Bergman
Byron Huskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 08:52 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Not to start a war, but I guess Mac users are not used to rebooting their system to solve issues - a lesson learned by us Windows users long ago <g>. Good to hear the problem went away, and sharing how with others.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2007, 12:48 PM   #9
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I dunno about that--first thing I do is restart when something weird happens and that often solves the problem. They don't seem to be all that different anymore.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network