Field monitor A/V or BNC? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 15th, 2007, 12:15 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium
Posts: 60
Field monitor A/V or BNC?

Hello,

I want to use a Philip PET 1030 portable DVD player that I have as a field monitor (it's 10"). It can handle 800x480 resolution and has an A/V input.
But when I hooked up my camera using the A/V output of the camera I got an image that was not as sharp as the LCD of the camera itself.
Is it so that the A/V output of the camera is a lower resolution? If so is the BNC connector the one that gives a higher resolution output?

Thanks,

Jeremy
Jeremy Naus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 12:51 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 670
There are several different video connectors on the A1/G1s but the real problem here is likely the DVD player. Consumer LCD monitors just aren't adequate as a critical evaluation tool, especially for an HD signal; you can use it to preview the image at low-res, and that's about it.
__________________
youtube.com/benhillmedia
linkedin.com/in/benhillmedia
Benjamin Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 12:57 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Jeremy.............

You're going to be exeedingly hard pressed to find an LCD that is as sharp as the one on the camera.

The camera LCD probably has the same resolution as your external but at only 7cm diagonal has an infinitely tighter packing rate, thus higher (visual) resolution.

Plus it is running native (so no interpolation issues) plus it is a true digital connect, so no digital/ analogue/ digital conversion going on. Plus it isn't on a "crushed" composite connect either.

The best external picture you can get is from the component outputs, but few small LCD's (less than 19") have component inputs. The ones that are out there are pretty expensive.

The very short answer to your question BTW is both A/V and BNC resolutions are the same (I think), so no help there.

Back to the drawing board I'm afraid.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 12:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium
Posts: 60
OK, so if I understand even a Marshall with BNC input and 800x480 resolution will give me the same image as the DVD player?

Thanks,

Jerm
Jeremy Naus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 12:22 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
If you want to view HD instead of SD output you will need to use the component output from the A1 or SDI output from the G1 into an HD compatible monitor. The AV and composite outputs are SD.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 03:17 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium
Posts: 60
OK, I think I get it.
This means that this monitor can handle the HD output of the camera, because it can input the component output of the camera, correct?

http://www.ikancorp.com/pages/monito...gram.html#tabs

Thanks for the information :-)
Jeremy Naus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 07:59 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Naus View Post
OK, I think I get it.
This means that this monitor can handle the HD output of the camera, because it can input the component output of the camera, correct?

http://www.ikancorp.com/pages/monito...gram.html#tabs

Thanks for the information :-)
Yes. Here's a review of that monitor:
http://www.dv.com/reviews/reviews_it...leId=196603356
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 02:43 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium
Posts: 60
Does anyone have any experience in using a component to vga convertor?

I just find it stupid to pay almost 1000 euro for a small lcd screen that has component input while a big lcd with vga input sells very cheap (and has a higher resolution than the small lcd).

It's just that I'm looking for a small field monitor that I can use to focus my 35mm lenses (my 35mm adaptor flips the image and I don't want to use a flip module as I loose 1stop and I film mostly in low light).

Last edited by Jeremy Naus; December 19th, 2007 at 07:56 AM.
Jeremy Naus is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network