Built-in mic seems loose? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2006, 10:00 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
Built-in mic seems loose?

Is it just mine? Or does the built in microphone seem loosely attached?
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2006, 10:07 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
It's loosley attached as a means of absorbing vibration.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 06:40 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 40
Does your A1's built-in microphone have a little free play?

Quick question regarding the built-in microphone.

It felt quite loose to me, or what I'd call a lot of freeplay. At the very tip of the mic, I can move it up and down roughly 1/4-inch.(which is a lot, as I can even see a gap between the rubber and the body)

Is this normal? If not, maybe I'll need to exchange it for another A1.

Thanks!
Herbert Bolander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 07:04 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 195
It is normal, so the mic can minimized vibrations from the movement of the camera.
Jason Strongfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 07:50 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Yep- lots of wiggle!
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 07:52 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 40
Thanks!

I guess it's normal, then... :)
Herbert Bolander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 08:16 PM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Herbert, I'm sure you saw my earlier reply to the same question here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....40&postcount=7

"The built-in mic isn't loose, it's slightly flexible. And it's *supposed* to flex... that's not a bug, it's a feature. The built-in mic is shock mounted and is fully intended to give a little in both axes of rotation. Canon is to be applauded for doing that. And don't try to fix what ain't broken... you'll void your warranty!"
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 03:39 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 83
Loose Onboard Microphone

Is this right about the onboard microphone? I cant find much on the forum about it. I have just received my A1 & was surprised the onboard microphone has some movement! Is everyone's like this? Nothing mentioned in the manual of what I have read so far.

Thanks.
Gareth Trezise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 03:46 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
Don't worry - it's normal.
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 03:47 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
My A1`s is loose too. I`ve seen several post about it and it seems normal.

T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 04:34 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 83
Okay. Thanks very much. That's good enough for me. Just didn't notice it when I looked at one before buying. A bit of a surprise. My only concern was how much pressure it could take when transporting in a camera bag. I guess it must be okay or someone else would have said something by now.

Thanks again.

G
Gareth Trezise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 07:30 AM   #12
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
It's not "loose." It's a shock-mount. Very much intentionally built that way.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 12:09 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Snellville, Georgia
Posts: 614
When the XH A1 first came out, the "loose microphone" inquiries started to remind of the DVX with its "clunking lens" questions.
__________________
www.philipwilliams.com
Philip Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 12:36 PM   #14
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Well there are two things on the A1 that remind me of that... one is the shock-mount for the mic and the other is the standby / lock button that prompts so many "my camera won't turn on!" posts. For what it's worth, that little detail stung me too, the first time I ever picked up an A1.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 03:54 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: DC, USA
Posts: 97
And the "why are my images so grainy?" AGC switch posts.
__________________
http://duffx.com
James Duffy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network