Are dropped frames unavoidable? - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 16th, 2008, 05:53 AM   #16
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
I'm beginning to think that a majority of what some think are dropouts are more from using an A1, HV10, HV20, etc. for capture because of the transport of these cameras. The A1 is just a tad bit more responsive than an HV10, but not by much. I downconvert during capture because my edit rig would probably choke plus my current Avid software is ancient. But while capturing sometimes I may happen to catch no audio and/or see video freeze for 1/2 a sec or a little longer & either elect to stop the capture, keeping what had been ok up to that point, or let it carry on. More often than not, I can go back a few seconds before many of these "dropout" events occur & then successfully re-capture what's needed to do a match frame in the edit & it's seamless.

I don't hear much of anyone here with using something like a Sony HVR-M15U for capture, probably because a lot shoot with 24f or 30f modes. But I'm betting anyone who shoots 60i & uses that deck has much better luck. I also have a DSR-11 & it's very responsive for DV/DVCAM work. Using the A1 or HV10 takes me nearly a 1/3 longer or more to capture because of the sluggish response and/or occasional pseudo dropouts that may occur. Plus I don't even bother trying to batch capture several segments on the Canons. It's just not gonna happen. Avid is finicky regarding deck responsiveness & I think it should be for less error prone operation.

Last edited by Bill Busby; April 16th, 2008 at 12:05 PM.
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2008, 07:49 AM   #17
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 80

I've been using the red/black Sony Premiums since day one on 3 different A1's using Hv20 for capture. I generally have one dropout every 12-15 tapes. Pretty much one per project that I'm working on. If I have one its normally right around a spot where the camera was stopped, turned off, turned on a minute later and recorded again... The premiums are so much cheaper than the HD tapes I just can't justify switching.

FCP 6.0.2 Intel Xeon Mac Quad
I'm watching television... in color
Nathan Nazeck is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network