Capturing headache - help! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2008, 12:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 127
Capturing headache - help!

Hi all,

I'm trying to capture from my Canon XHA1 onto my Harddrive using Sony Vegas 7.0e.

Everytime I plug in the camera, the software says ''Device Not Available" and on the camera LCD screen the words "HDV//DV IN" and "CH1/2" keep flashing simultaneously.

Could anyone tell me what's going on? :(

Thank you!
__________________
Sunny Dhinsey
Director - www.filmlore.tv
Sunny Dhinsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 12:14 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ens, The Netherlands
Posts: 198
There might be something not ok with your firewire connector in the camera, or the cable. I had the same experience. New cable was the solution for me.
I'm using Vegas 8.0b right now.
__________________
http://www.hdvinfo.nl The Dutch forum and website about HDV & Canon XH-A1
Gert Kracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2008, 12:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 127
The cable seems to function correctly. It only seems to be happening on one of my A1s. Oddly, it connects to my laptop, but not my desktop.
__________________
Sunny Dhinsey
Director - www.filmlore.tv
Sunny Dhinsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 03:46 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
The A1 will only work with SP2. HDV can only capture through the Vegas GUI, not Vidcap. You MUST have the camera off when opening HDV cap. Once the app is running, only then should you turn on the camera. For some reason, Vegas doesn't play too nicely with the A1
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 08:06 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
If the camcorder connects to your laptop, but not your desktop, there may be an issue with a driver or setting on the desktop.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 09:21 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Seems to be a common complaint.

I've resorted to using my HV20 and 7 for the moment.

http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.ph...ht=canon+xh-a1
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2008, 06:09 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 2
Try HDVSplit

Try HDVSplit
http://strony.aster.pl/paviko/hdvsplit.htm
Works great with A1. No drivers to install. Just connect the camera, turn it on, and launch the progam.
Beta, but I have had no trouble.
Jim Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 03:30 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pembrokeshire, Wales
Posts: 734
When Premier elements refused to recognise the camcorder, I discovered the problem was that I had not switched things on in the right order. The program needed to be running before the camcorder was switched on. I f I did it the other way round, I could rewind the tape, but nothing else.

Just a thought
Annie Haycock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network