stopping and starting recording at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 22nd, 2008, 10:23 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 6
stopping and starting recording

Newbie question here. I am going to be recording some weightlifting events where, i'm only recording for 3 minutes for the lift, not very much time. What does that do to tape/heads??? to keep stopping and starting for say
a 5 hour period (of course i switch tapes when needed)... are there issues
with pausing or do you stop and then press record... is there a lag time??? when you hit record again..... are there issues with keeping it in pause mode.... (dropouts?) etc...
Jim Burton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 11:22 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,291
When the heads are spinning in contact wit the tape, whether recording, playback, or in pause, there is head wear (and tape wear), and battery use.

Generally speaking, sitting in pause more for more than ~5 minutes is discouraged due to wear issues, especially the possibility of wear to that spot on the tape. But this is not the problem now that it was in past times with less robust tape formulations. If the lifts are several minutes apart in time, and there is adequate warning to restart before the next lift you intend to record, put the camcorder in "lock" mode (see page 28 of the manual) between lifts to save battery and head/tape wear.

The lag going from lock to recording is not as great as going from power off, but it is real, so try it out to see what works for you.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2008, 02:18 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 6
thanks

excellent advice
Jim Burton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 03:24 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Espoo Finland
Posts: 380
If you have to do this a lot, then a PC solution like Canon Console or DVRack (or whatever Adobe renamed it) would work better; you can have the camera on all the time without a tape and record direct to disk whenever you want with no wear on the tape mechanism. There is also a pre-shot buffer which means you can miss the start by some seconds and still not miss any action.
Petri Kaipiainen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network