XH-A1 slow motion test at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2008, 12:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 65
XH-A1 slow motion test

here's a slow motion test we did the other day for a trailer we're making.
no audio on these clips, shot 60i, then slowed down in After Effects.

Let me know what you guys think.

Thanks

http://www.vimeo.com/658841
Christian Nachtrieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 04:19 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Pretty good! What shutter speed were you shooting?
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 06:24 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 65
Shutter was at 1/120.
Thank you
Christian Nachtrieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 06:46 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 67
Excellent! That's probably the best job I've seen of anyone slowing down XH-A1 footage... I might just have to switch my system to Adobe...
Nicholas Tran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 11:01 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 740
what rate of speed is it at in AE? CS3? Any other special settings to make it so smooth?
__________________
Cinematography Site
Nathan Quattrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 01:15 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Quattrini View Post
what rate of speed is it at in AE? CS3? Any other special settings to make it so smooth?
I used After Effects CS3, all I did was import the footage, click on Interpret, and tell it to play back at 23.976 fps. You create a new comp with it, and then you do a Time Stretch, at exactly 200%. Then you click the option for your footage to "frame blend" I think it's called.. the solid slash is what you want, interpolation.
Christian Nachtrieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 02:58 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 259
That looked sweet... Nice job After effects... : )
__________________
"The only thing the camera sees is light..."
http://www.GoWildOlive.com
Doug Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 04:35 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
Yeah, it's a cool trick. I do the same thing in Vegas. I used it for my last feature, THE BROKEN QUIET, for a few shots -- beautiful indeed.
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 12:35 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa, FL United States
Posts: 135
That was really excellent! I have a new EX1 to go with my A1 and your work rivals some of the overcranking I am getting out of it.
Bryan Suthard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2008, 11:53 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sharon CT
Posts: 13
Does anyone have any advice for doing something like this in FCP? Am I going to need a pluggin?

Also what are the effect if you do this to your footage and speed it back up?
__________________
www.uneedfilms.com
Sam Haber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2008, 12:18 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Haber View Post
Does anyone have any advice for doing something like this in FCP? Am I going to need a pluggin?

Also what are the effect if you do this to your footage and speed it back up?
If you wanted to do slow motion in final cut, and make it look good I would recommend buying a program called "Twixtor."

To speed it back up is easy, when the exported footage from after effects is brought back into final cut, it's all slowed down. So all I did was break the clip in two, and change the speed of the first half to make it go faster, so it looks like it is running at normal frame rate.

There are better ways, like within after effects for example using time remapping, but I didn't feel like getting fancy.
Christian Nachtrieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2008, 12:25 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sharon CT
Posts: 13
Thanks.

How long of a process is this?
__________________
www.uneedfilms.com
Sam Haber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 08:43 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 740
so you madea 24fps comp, and exported 24 fps as well correct?
__________________
Cinematography Site
Nathan Quattrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2008, 10:31 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 65
Not a long process at all.

Yes, after interpreting the footage as 24fps, I created a new comp that was 24fps and exported it as such.
Christian Nachtrieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2008, 08:03 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 36
Looks good. I'd stay in 60i though - it would be more fluid. That is just my opinion. But, very well done.
Todd Smaretsky is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network