Tapeless setting on A1 with FS-C at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2008, 01:22 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kendallville, IN
Posts: 14
Tapeless setting on A1 with FS-C

I'm trying to use my new FS-C DTE hard drive and it states in the manual that I have to set my A1 to TAPELESS mode in order for the automatic recording to work on the FS-C without me having to push the FS-C record button. Where on the A1 is the tapeless setup the FS-C manual is claiming I need to turn on before it will work????
Patrick Hess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 02:13 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Murray, Ky
Posts: 43
FSC tapeless function

I have the FSC and Canon XH A1. You set the FSC to tapeless
from the Control menu within the FSC. If you need help
capturing to FCE let me know via e-mail. Thanks.

Charles Dodd
Charles Dodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 02:30 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kendallville, IN
Posts: 14
I've set the FS-C to tapeless already. That's not the question. The manual says that after I set it to tapeless on the FS-C, I also have to set my DV camera to "tapeless" in order for the record sync feature to work. How do I do that on the A1?
Patrick Hess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 03:28 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Murray, Ky
Posts: 43
In the A1 system setup menu I turn the DV Control to on. This
way all I have to do is hit the record button on the A1.

Charles Dodd
Charles Dodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 05:14 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kendallville, IN
Posts: 14
right on

The DV to ON in the menu was the issue. The manual for the A1 doesn't make it all that clear that this is what is required to put the camera in "tapeless" mode.
Patrick Hess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 07:51 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Hess View Post
The DV to ON in the menu was the issue. The manual for the A1 doesn't make it all that clear that this is what is required to put the camera in "tapeless" mode.
Looking at the pdf manual from their site, "tapeless" refers to what Focus Enhancement calls DV (IEEE1394) control. It's not referencing the A1 itself. That's why you won't see the word "tapeless" in the A1 manual :)
Bill Busby is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network