Redrock And Cannon FD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2008, 07:50 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
Redrock And Cannon FD

So i've just got a redrock and 80-200 1.4 canon fd lens, but i can't seem to focus! Does anyone know how much the Canon should be zoomed in on the ground glass? Also the focus?
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 12:17 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 118
I haven't seen a RedRock in person, but I can image it requires a step-up/step-down ring of some sort to properly fit and provide the correct distance. Did you get one of these rings or something like that specific to a 72mm lens?
Kellen Dengler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 12:38 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
it just slips right onto the system by a suction cup device, maybe i should ask this in the 35mm adapter section aye? Could have gone either way. hahahah well thanks anywayss
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 01:22 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 157
Yo Loren. I don't know about the redrock but I have a Letus. You gotta make sure your xha1 is focused on the ground glass before putting the lens on, man. So just zoom the xh all the way so its completely telephoto and then turn peaking on, look through your canon lcd and make sure the ground glass is not spinning. turn it off. Focus it on the ground glass. Then turn on auto focus and tape your focus ring on the canon down. The attach the lens and zoom the canon out so that you barely have the ground glass out of frame. Now, make sure you use a high res monitor to pull focus. You won't be able to tell focus worth shit with the lcd on the canon
Steve Yager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 01:42 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
yeah i tried focusing on the ground gladd, but i didnt use your peaking suggestion! so i think i'll do that tomorow, but i just bought a hard mount kit to im hoping thatll fix it as well! Thankss for ur help yager!
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 03:47 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brea, CA
Posts: 23
Loren,

would you kindly contact me...I'm thinking of getting the M2 and would like to share ideas with you and perhaps learn about your rig.

Would you email me...

Thanks
__________________
www.geozero.com
George Heredia is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network