NTSC to PAL? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 15th, 2008, 12:33 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
NTSC to PAL?

An American guy just offered me a well paid Interview gig in London he wants shot on DV NTSC. Being British I have a PAl version of the Canon A1.

Do I say thanks but no thanks, or is there a workaround?

I also have Final Cut Studio2. Can Compressor do something about this problem?

Thanks

Dom
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 07:55 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,860
It is possible to convert between NTSC and PAL.
I have done this many times with Adobe Premiere Pro 2, and I believe most of the other editing software can do the same.
(Image quality will drop a little).

There is also DVFilm's Atlantis you might want to check out.
http://www.dvfilm.com/atlantis/index.htm

This topic has been discussed here lots of times earlier.
Here are some of the threads of interest I found when searching:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...rting+PAL+NTSC

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...rting+PAL+NTSC
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 10:14 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,699
You obviously can convert PAL to NTSC, but the end result will not be at all comparable with it being shot on NTSC in the first place.

A better solution would be to hire a suitable camera for the interview - there's quite a few now that are switchable, like the Z1.

You need to check with your potential client if shooting PAL and converting is acceptable. If he has specified that it needs to be "shot on DV NTSC", and you supply him with a conversion he'd be perfectly entitled to refuse payment.
David Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 10:36 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Heath View Post
A better solution would be to hire a suitable camera for the interview - there's quite a few now that are switchable, like the Z1.
Canon also offer an "update" to make the XH-A1 able to shoot both PAL and NTSC. I think the update costs 500 dollars in the US. Not sure about the costs here in Europe.
This might be an option compared to rent another camera, depending of what it costs to rent.
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 12:00 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 10
i read the reply,i am still cofused on how to go about it ,i have captured the ntsc footage to my pal project ,now i would like to know if there is a way to convert those clips into pal in the timeline or what else i can do to rectefy this
Ian Hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 01:26 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 10
okayyyyyy may be this is how it should be done .

start new project in FCP4, re set settings as NTSC to PAL capture as. then take new project and incorporate it to current project . Does that make sense??
Ian Hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 03:22 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 430
check these out -

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....14548&#4914548

http://www.nattress.com/Products/sta...conversion.htm

tutorial -

http://www.nattress.com/Movies/PAL%2...Conversion.mov
Dom Stevenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 04:31 AM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
http://www.macworld.com/article/4930...rchcreate.html

check this.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 04:45 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 10
Thank you for the links, i would assume then that if i was converting ntsc to pal use the same info as in links just set the setup to suit the conversion as explained in the links yes /no ?
Ian Hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 04:51 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 10
guys you the best thank you .Jaspher your post was not up when i last posted my editor is a German lady(wife) and thats double trouble needs to be precise info or shes wont understand.

I drive cameras not editing suits cheers to all
Ian
Ian Hollow is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network