My XHA1 180 flipped LCD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2008, 01:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 137
My XHA1 180 flipped LCD

Check dis out! Got my XHA1 modified from an inside source. HE told me the menu can be also modified for adding a 180 flip option in the menu. Its all done internally by an IC board and binary switches. I'll be looking into the menu mods soon...


http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/5553/img2021ds9.jpg
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/2691/img2020ri1.jpg
http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/3387/img2019vv7.jpg
http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/959/img2018ac1.jpg
http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/8646/img2017kj6.jpg
__________________
www.ozan.ca
Ozan Biron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 05:17 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium
Posts: 60
really looking forward for this option :-)
Jeremy Naus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 08:01 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
I use a Brevis Flip module.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 12:22 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Antwerpen (Belgium)
Posts: 220
Keep us posted!
Eugene Presley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2008, 11:48 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
so is there a way to do this manually? or some crack to upload to the sd and change the firmware? I desperately need this! hahaha so keep me up to date!
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 12:26 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Posts: 306
So it doesn't work with the old way, with a small magnet?
__________________
Jonas Nyström, DoP :: HOT SHOT® SWEDEN :: www.hotshot.nu :: RED #1567, RED 18-50mm T3 :: XL A1, Letus Extreme :: XL H1, 20X & 6X lens (for sale) :: www.vimeo.com/nystrom
Jonas Nystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 12:56 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 137
no more small magnets... from wat the the guy told me. In order to get a menu option hes going to have to program it in the menu. I also had the viewfinder eye piece turned off which i never use! I notice my battery is lasting a bit longer now.

He said its kinda like your firmware update but done within the camera. He was telling me alot of things can be done jst besides from 180flip. Il'l be find out out more information.... Maybe i can call it the OZAN fireware update. :)

The LCD contains 3 swtiches.

Switch one is when u rotating it the LCD forward producing a "mirrored 180" image.

Switch two when u bring the LCD back to 6 oclock the image flippes again but to the proper 180 flipped.

Switch three turns the LCD ON and Off whens its flipped out from its locking position

I had the first 2 switches reversed.
__________________
www.ozan.ca
Ozan Biron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2008, 02:29 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
YOU MAKE ME SO JEALOUS! i want thiss =(
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 11:54 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Anymore info as far as this goes?
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 07:05 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yeppoon, Queensland
Posts: 332
I second that, hopefully there is some news?
Peter Szilveszter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2008, 02:25 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 48
Here is what I posted on the Redrock forum a while back. Could not get to "switch two" for fear I would break something. I got an Ikan8000HD and gave up on it. Here is a tutorial on how to flip it.

"Quote"

Here is how you flip the LCD on the XH-A1. First remove the two screws on the right hand side of the LCD (right side as if you where looking at an image on the LCD). Then remove the screw fromt he left hand side. Be careful not to lose them! Be sure to use a screw drive that is the right size for the screws so you don't strips the heads. Remove the back plastic cover from the back, carefully, so you don't break the plastic clips (as seen below).

http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...9/IMG_0094.jpg

There are four, two on top, two on the bottom.

Next you are looking for a little black switch near the metal part that is the hinge for the up down movement of the LCD. If you notice that when you rotate the LCD the black switch is moved by part of the metal hinge, and that is what causes the LCD to flip. (See the image below, sorry its blurry, best I could do).

http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...9/IMG_0092.jpg

The black switch is right under the bundle of white cords going to the lcd circut board. You have to look real close.

Next, put a something like tape on the metal hinge so when you move the LCD it will flip the switch sooner than it normaly would. I have mine setup so you can move LCD just a bit and have it either right side up, or upside down. Keeps me from having to open the LCD back up when I want to use my cam without the M2.

Close everything up, dont tighten the screws too tight so you can undo it later if you have to. Here are the results:

http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...9/IMG_0098.jpg

http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...9/IMG_0097.jpg

The image is now right side up, but still wrong left to right. Better than nothing! Good Luck.
Jimmy Moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2008, 03:29 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 137
From wat i understood from the guy... switch 2 is far back under the LCD arm. Remember switch 2 only gets activated when the LCD is pivoted towards 6 o'clock. It flips to the proper 180 flipped. Fixing the side to side movement.

However, all this can be modified from the main board that controls all 3 switches. From the mainboard it can be programed into the menu from wa the dude told me. I havent had time to do this yet. Been to busy wit work. eh! Though I have no need for bringing it back to the proper flipped image as my 35mm adapter is always on the camera.
__________________
www.ozan.ca
Ozan Biron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 12:32 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 288
wait so is it something i can do? or someone professional has to do?
__________________
Loren Simons
Loren Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 02:33 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, CANADA
Posts: 137
Mine was done by someone who knows there canon shiznets... aka Canon certified!

Soo ya, i'd recommend using a pro. Any canon technician can do it. Jst ask them. Costed me 50 bones to do for 1 hours work. Can also be easly reversed if need to resell.
__________________
www.ozan.ca
Ozan Biron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 02:40 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
I assume this voids the warranty? If not, I'll be going straight to my Canon service station when I get back to my rig.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network