Can XH-A1 Back from Repair, with Firmware Version 1.0.2.0 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2008, 01:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Can XH-A1 Back from Repair, with Firmware Version 1.0.2.0

The internal speaker blew on my XH-A1 so I took it into the Canon Service Center in Irvine, CA last week. My camera had the original 1.0.0.0 firmware installed and I knew there was a 1.0.0.1, so I figured, what the heck, I'll have them upgrade the firmware while it's there. I picked up the A1 the next day. When I checked the firmware version, it had 1.0.2.0 installed!

So far, I've not been able to find any differences, but truth be told, I rarely dig around in the menus a whole lot these days.
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 04:27 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 340
Last week I bought a XH-A1 and the firmware is 1.0.2.0
Bob Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 05:06 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nancy - FRANCE
Posts: 6
Well, but how can you see the firmware version ? Thanks for help.
Jacques Dufait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 05:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Put the camera in VCR mode, move the little switch on the right side of the camera from Tape to Card, then go into the menu and look in the System Setup section. (Page 140 in the manual)
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 06:11 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melreso Park IL.
Posts: 86
Julian
What is this software for or what are they trying to fix with this upgrade, any body knows?
Mike Quinones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 03:59 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Unfortunately, I have no idea what was fixed or added by this firmware upgrade. I can't find anything different in the menus.
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 02:47 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 244
Hi

How about the gain settings, are they different from mine, -3, 0, +3, +6, +12, +18, +36?

Zoom-speed? Slower slowest?

Sensitivity on the focus ring?

It would be nice if Canon could tell the differences on new firmwares.

Regards,

/Bo
Bo Sundvall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 06:54 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Probably a patch to an obscure bug.

Based on typical software numbering schemes, a 1.0.2.0 release is not much of a change form a 1.0.0.0, or a 1.0.0.1, and would not be expected to add any new features.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 11:20 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Sundvall View Post
How about the gain settings, are they different from mine, -3, 0, +3, +6, +12, +18, +36?
Zoom-speed? Slower slowest?
Sensitivity on the focus ring?
Nope. all the same
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 03:22 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Noosa Queensland Australia
Posts: 236
Why don't you just ask Canon?
Bill Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 06:44 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Can anyone shed any further light on 1.0.2.0?

Cheers.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 09:54 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chuluota, Florida
Posts: 35
I called Canon this morning (+1.800.828.4040, menu selection for support) and the tech did not have specifics about the firmware upgrade. Unfortunately, the only way to obtain the firmware upgrade is to send the camera to their authorized service facility in New Jersey. I'm not inclined to do that until I know more about what is changed by the firmware...
Lee Small is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 10:23 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Victor, Montana
Posts: 61
Firmware

If it isn't broke, don't fix it. Why worry about what might be if you are producing good video and not having trouble with your camera in doing so?
Phil Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2008, 10:25 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: columbus, oh
Posts: 44
Just curious Julian...how did the speaker get blown?
John Ray is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network