XLR not working with Rode NT-2 but will with other Mics at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2008, 08:04 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 21
XLR not working with Rode NT-2 but will with other Mics

Weirdest thing... I just got a new Canon A1... plugged in my Rode mic and NO sound is registering. I plugged in a handheld mic I have lying around and it picked up in both channel 1 and channel 2. Then I figured my Rode mic was bad but I plugged it into my DVX camera and it works just like normal.

What am I missing here? Is there a Phantom power switch on the A1 or something like similar that I'm overlooking?

rk
__________________
_____________________
www.epicmotion.com www.epicmotion.com/blog
Ryan Koral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 08:39 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 12
XLR not working with Rode NT-2

Ryan

There certainly is a phantom power switch - two of them in fact! They live just on the front of the little box where the XL connectors are fitted.

Regards
NER
Neal Reville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 10:24 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal Reville View Post
Ryan

There certainly is a phantom power switch - two of them in fact! They live just on the front of the little box where the XL connectors are fitted.

Regards
NER
yeah - i think that's the ONLY part of the camera i haven't looked at yet... hehe. you're the man -- thanks for the help!!!
__________________
_____________________
www.epicmotion.com www.epicmotion.com/blog
Ryan Koral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 10:27 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Which RODE have you got? The NTG-2 runs on a 1.5v battery or 48V. The NT2-A needs 48V.

For either one always plug the mic in before turning the A1s 48V on, and turn it off before disconnecting the mic. Manual page 44.
Cheers.
Allan Black is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network