HV30 as player and 2nd camera? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2008, 03:47 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
HV30 as player and 2nd camera?

I'm looking into a HV30 as a (H)DV-player-recorder (to spare the heads of my XH-A1) and as a second camera. I see the advantages, but are there any drawbacks I should consider? Would also be a handy camera to have permanently in the car...
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 07:00 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Other than it struggles a little in low light compared to the XH-A1, the HV20 is great additional cam to have.
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 07:50 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Thanks for the reply
Luc
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 11:47 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 422
There are still a few HV20s around and they're selling for much less than the new HV30. Unless you really need the clearer LCD side-screen, the HV20 does everything the newer one does. Get one before they're gone.
__________________
Steam Age Pictures - videos in aid of railway preservation societies.
Mark Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 12:17 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 60
I just got my HV 30 and used it for the first time last night. I shot the dress rehearsal of a musical I am shooting live tonight. When I got the footage home I could not believe how the HV30 and A1 performed in the theatre

Had both cams set HDV 60i. I had my A1 set to Panalook 2 and spotlight mode and the HV30 locked down and set to spotlight mode. The footage is so close its scary.

I couldn’t be happier with HV 30. For $799(B & H) I think you get way more camera than the price suggests.
Adam Slaght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 12:47 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Fry View Post
There are still a few HV20s around and they're selling for much less than the new HV30. Unless you really need the clearer LCD side-screen, the HV20 does everything the newer one does. Get one before they're gone.
Well, actually Canon has created a strange situation in Europe as far as price-setting is concerned: a new HV20 costs 899,- euros, while an - also - new HV30 is 915,- euros. BUT... on the latter there is a cashback action starting june 1st, of 100 euros. So in fact the HV30 sells new for 84 euros less than a brandnew HV20! I guess in that case the choice is quikly made...
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 12:49 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Slaght View Post
I just got my HV 30 and used it for the first time last night. I shot the dress rehearsal of a musical I am shooting live tonight. When I got the footage home I could not believe how the HV30 and A1 performed in the theatre

Had both cams set HDV 60i. I had my A1 set to Panalook 2 and spotlight mode and the HV30 locked down and set to spotlight mode. The footage is so close its scary.

I couldn’t be happier with HV 30. For $799(B & H) I think you get way more camera than the price suggests.

Thanks for this comment Adam, I'll order mine tomorrow, so that I can get one of the first ones with cashback (= 815,- euros).
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 01:04 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc De Wandel View Post
Thanks for this comment Adam, I'll order mine tomorrow, so that I can get one of the first ones with cashback (= 815,- euros).
You wont be dissapointed.
Adam Slaght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 02:10 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Camarillo, Ca
Posts: 9
i will be using the HV30 as a player for the A1 as well

Just received mine today, and may have a problem.

Question for those who have the HV30. I notice that if i gently shake the cam i hear/feel something moving around inside. It feels like the movement is with in the lens housing in an attached way, not a completely loose screw or part clanging around. Not sure what to think of this as the camera works, no negative effect when shaking while recording. I will call canon in a bit, though would like to hear from HV30 users here.

Jim
Jim Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 02:20 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Camarillo, Ca
Posts: 9
Ok, well i guess this is something i will need to get used to.

I just hung up with canon tech support. A helpful woman was able to grab an Hv30 off the shelf and shake it there. Same result.

I was a little concerned, my Sony HC3 makes no noise as well as the A1 when shaken.

I just hope this rattle sound doesnt find its way into the audio when recording.
Jim Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 02:26 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 60
Just grabbed and shook mine...no rattle here
Adam Slaght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 02:35 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Camarillo, Ca
Posts: 9
Interesting, so you hear absolutely nothing when shaking it? The canon techs camera sounded identical to mine when she was shaking it.

I will need to plan a camera shaking trip to some local stores.
Jim Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 02:47 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Camarillo, Ca
Posts: 9
I found in the troubleshooting section of the manual that the rattle is normal. The internal lens fixture CAN move when camera is not on. Turn the camera on (camera mode) shake it, no rattle.
Jim Brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 02:55 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 60
Opps my bad, mine was on.

When turned off I got the rattle here too.
Adam Slaght is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2008, 05:21 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 106
HV20 versus HV30

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Fry View Post
There are still a few HV20s around and they're selling for much less than the new HV30. Unless you really need the clearer LCD side-screen, the HV20 does everything the newer one does. Get one before they're gone.
Doesn't the HV30 have 30F, which the HV20 does not have? I've been thinking of getting an HV as a second to my XHA1 and I like shooting 30F. If the HV20 has it, and is cheaper, that would be a reason to go for the HV20.
Greg Joyce is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network