Sync edit problem HXA1 - HV20 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 23rd, 2008, 07:16 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Venlo, NL
Posts: 12
Sync edit problem HXA1 - HV20

Has a anybody have experienced the following:
1 hour recording from HV20 mounted on tripod
and the same subject recorded on xha1 but many motion and handling while recording.
When loaded both tapes in editor ( catured hdv with hdvsplit ) it seems that after +/- 10 minutes both tracks grow out of sync.
I have done 2 cam recordings without sync problems but the difference was that both cams were steady mounted on tripod.
Does the motion of the cam effect the transport speed or recording of the tape?

Best regards
Rene Brunken
Rene Brunken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 10:58 AM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Moving a camera around has nothing to do with it. Could it be you recorded with the HV20 in 24p and the XHA1 in 60i or 30F? Or the XHA1 in 24f and the other in 60i?
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 04:02 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Venlo, NL
Posts: 12
I always work in 25i (PAL) and frame settings on both are the same.

Have you ever tried moving around a spinning bycicle wheel, there are gyroscopic forces in effect. This could be the same in the camera.
Rene Brunken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 12:51 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 7
Sync Edit Problem A1-HV20

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rene Brunken View Post
Has a anybody have experienced the following:
1 hour recording from HV20 mounted on tripod
and the same subject recorded on xha1 but many motion and handling while recording.
When loaded both tapes in editor ( catured hdv with hdvsplit ) it seems that after +/- 10 minutes both tracks grow out of sync.
I have done 2 cam recordings without sync problems but the difference was that both cams were steady mounted on tripod.
Does the motion of the cam effect the transport speed or recording of the tape?

Best regards
Rene Brunken
Rene,

We just finished a wedding using a HV20 (as B roll) and A1, the 20 was mounted to a tripod and was never moved during the cermony, the A1 while also mounted to a tripod was moved to different locations, I'm doing the post work now in Premier CS3 and had to use some of the audio from the HV20 to replace the audio from the A1, I had no problem with the sync through the entire timeline once I got it lined up correctly, in fact I was amazed at how easy it was to sync the two different cameras together, most of the work we do is racing events and mixing two cameras together isn't much of a issue in that type of venue....never had a issue like your describing, the wedding we shot was 4 hours of tape and none of it had the sync problem your having.

Jon Spindler
Spin-City Productions
www.dragtopia.com
Jon Spindler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 04:20 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 244
Hi

Is it the picture or the sound that is out of sync?
How much difference is there, say after 10 minutes?


/Bo

Last edited by Bo Sundvall; May 28th, 2008 at 04:21 AM. Reason: Added 2:nd question
Bo Sundvall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2008, 02:45 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
What software are you using? Are you happen to be using Premiere Pro CS3?
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 12:11 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 160
On a similar issue,
I taped the wedding on the hv-20 (24p) and xhA1(24f). Captured with FCP 6.0.5.
Now I have to multicam both cameras, but the hv20 (24p turns into 29...) does not match the XH. I converted the hv20 footage to ProRes 24p, and then somehow when i multiclip both, the xh (24f) footage has 29. frames!!???!! How? Why? How do I keep that from happening. That of course de-synch the multiclip (23. on the hv and 29. on the xh). If my hair was longer I 'd had pulled it all!
Any suggestions?
Erick Munari is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network