Grainy Video from Canon XH A1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2008, 02:07 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 58
Grainy Video from Canon XH A1

I just bought the Canon XH A1 and I really am impressed with the construction, build, functions and features!!

However, I am not impressed wit the video being grainy..
Why is the video results from the XH A1 so grainy????

I did change all the auto settings, it is not on AGC , I dont use gain boost
as I use alot of light and do not need the gain boost.

Why does the XH A1 produce grainy video even in 1440x1080i ????
Eddie Coates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 02:29 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 131
I just bought an A1 as well. One thing I can say is it is definitely not grainy. Have you studied up on the presets yet? This website has some great information and an online downloadable catalogue of presets others have tried and developed successfully.
What are your presets set at when you get "grainy" video?
Guy Shaddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Addison (Dallas) Texas
Posts: 88
The only time I get grain video is in low-light. Make sure the gain is set to 0.
Buddy Frazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 02:56 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I agree. You must be shooting at a high gain. Set it manually to zero or -3. Be sure the auto gain is off.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 04:33 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Are you certain that you are not using Auto Gain?

If so, what gain setting are you using?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 05:18 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Eddie...........

May I ask what you're watching the video on and how it's getting there?


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 08:41 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Redmond, Virginia
Posts: 84
Gain = Grain
Jordan Orberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 11:52 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London
Posts: 35
Sorry to add one more to the gain theory, but do have a look at what menu settings you have for the gain. Check that you have the AGC switched off and the actual gain switch to L (for low)

If it's not that maybe provide us with either a still or video sample and also let us know what settings you have the camera on.
__________________
www.tallyproductions.co.uk
Kathy Stannard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 12:48 PM   #9
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Good point. Also, a person could go into the menu and set the "low" switch position to a high gain. I don't know how you'd do this by accident, but it could be done. Normally, I keep my low position to -3, medium is zero and high is +3...but they could be set at anything.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 08:12 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 294
The suspense is killing us Eddie....what are your settings....

trish
Trish Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 05:43 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich Germany , Singapore ,NSW Australia
Posts: 419
I go to +6 the max and the Grain are very minimal at that, when I shoot weddings. The couple and normal people can't really tell the differences. By the way , you can use the shutter speed, iris to control the the image to make it brighter then to use the gain switch...
__________________
Website: http://www.Motiononcanvas.com Camera Operator in Sydney Australia and Singapore.
David Chia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 07:21 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Africa
Posts: 255
Full resolution screen grabs please?
Seun Osewa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 09:37 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: villa park CA
Posts: 81
The gain can be set as high as 18 not 6

David-
I see you wrote the gains setting at high is 6. It can be set anywhere from -3 to 18.
if you want some grain do an 18 gain, works every time.
Dan Herrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 05:05 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 58
Grain

I am sorry folks for not responding sooner...

I have the AGC set to OFF

Preset is low -3

I do not use high gain or any gain boost due the fact I shoot in lots of light so a boost is NOT
Needed.

E
Eddie Coates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 06:20 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: villa park CA
Posts: 81
Do you have a factory preset turned on

If your gain is 0 or -3 then that not the issue.
next just set the camera to auto......the end on the dial and shot. not check and see if you have any grainy look.
Not that you will shot that way but that will verify that it is a setting that needs to be adjusted.
Also is the grain showing up after you inport it into your editing system?
what is your platform?
Dan Herrmann is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network