XH-A1 and Stop Motion Animation at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2008, 11:34 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sugar Hill, Georgia
Posts: 5
XH-A1 and Stop Motion Animation

I really like the XH-A1 and am narrowing down my decision. I'm leaning toward the XH-A1.

The question I have is: Although the camera can be used as a still camera, can it capture one frame at a time for stop motion animation work? I understand it does not have a time lapse feature on it but can you manually shoot one frame at a time?

I called Canon. The lady said you can take single frames and then combine them in post however in the way she was describing it, it sounded cumbersome. And she also didn't sound very confident in the answer she gave.

Has anyone done stop motion with the XH-A1?

Thanks!

Mike

Last edited by Michael Rabasa; June 10th, 2008 at 06:50 PM. Reason: Typo
Michael Rabasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 12:26 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pembrokeshire, Wales
Posts: 734
I think you can only do it when shooting tethered. I've tried it with both premier elements 4 and with ScenalyzerLive recording straight onto a laptop. Otherwise, get a stills camera that can be set to take a photo every second or so and use the stills as individual frames. Tedious, but it works
__________________
Canon XH A1; Canon XF100; Nikon D800
Annie Haycock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 04:35 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Munich (Germany)
Posts: 107
Images: 4
But why would you use a VIDEO camera to shoot stop motion, when a STILL camera would do the same job, better, for a fraction of the price?

May I suggest that you watch carefully the "making of" of "Wallace and Gromit"?
Jerome Marot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 04:43 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 422
Some miniDV cameras will take single frames, but I don't know of any HDV cameras that will. Something to do with the long-GOP structure of MPEG, I expect.
__________________
Steam Age Pictures - videos in aid of railway preservation societies.
Mark Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 06:49 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Espoo Finland
Posts: 380
Tape mechanisms can not be used for single frames.

(Late) DVRack and similar PC-based programs can use video camera (without tape) to capture stills or speeded up video at any frame rate slower than 30/25 fps.

By far the easiest method with best quality (any resolution even above HDTV, actually, and good control of DOF) can be had with a dSLR. All better editors take numbered stills sequences and turn them automatically into a video. I have done dozens of those with both PPro and FCP.
Petri Kaipiainen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network