How do you downconvert HD to SD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2008, 01:49 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 131
How do you downconvert HD to SD

I am hoping that the HDV footage I shot on my XH-A1 will playback and at the same time downconvert to SD. I have my A1 connected to my Sony GV D1000 deck and am trying to let the HD camera roll and send the signal to the Sony deck converted already. I have hooked up a firewire connection to both units. Is it possible to downconvert this way?
Guy Shaddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 01:53 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 131
Opps I just answered my own question. I unplugged the firewire cable from the camera replugged it in and the HD>SD conversion is no longer greyed out...and works.
It's a beautiful thing!
Guy Shaddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 06:59 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Shaddock View Post
It's a beautiful thing!
Unless you have a PAL camera, in which case there is a flickering line that makes the footage unusable. Glad you got yours working though.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 12:23 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 29
Why?

Shoot in HDV and edit in HDV then output to SD. You won't regret it. Seriously why do the downgrade to a second tape? I don't get it. Shooting in HDV will future proof your work, and quite honestly HDV just looks superior to SD even when down rezed to ProRes422 and output to compressor to go to DVDSP and from there to DVD.
The only thing you'll gain is CRT monitoring while you edit, which you could still get by using your camera or an HV20 to spool. Monitoring on LCD is getting better, and colour profiling on an Apple display works pretty good.
I'm ranting, just my 2cents worth.
Wayne Dupuis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2008, 12:33 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 54
I definitely agree with Wayne. I do all my conversion in post (using Vegas). Why? This gives me opportunity to zoom&pan during the edit w/o jeopardizing the end result. I cannot see why I should make the conversion using the camera.
Matti Remonen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network