on-board mic not working after XLR use at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 7th, 2008, 02:00 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vernon, NJ
Posts: 9
on-board mic not working after XLR use

i bought a shotgun mic for an event that i shot a week ago. Everything went fine and all the audio recorded A-OK. Afterwards, i unplugged the XLR and put the mic away, then tried to shoot a little extra footage using the on-board mic, and now i'm not getting any audio signal. I scrolled thru the audio menu setting and turned the XLR input off, set the audio level switch to auto (i also tried manual settings) and flipped the switch above the XLR inputs to Mic. Still no dice. The on-board mic has worked with no problems at all (about 6 months) up until i used the XLR mic.

Anyone have any thoughts about a setting i'm missing or something that might work? thanks in advance

-gardner
Gardy Raymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 02:42 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
It sounds like you did everything right. What about the ON/OFF switches on the front of the XLR module? (under where it says +48v). Maybe double-check the XLR setting in the menus to make sure it actually switched to OFF.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 02:44 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vernon, NJ
Posts: 9
both are set to off.
Gardy Raymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2008, 03:55 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Have you tried performing a reset?
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2008, 08:48 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vernon, NJ
Posts: 9
i did a factory reset in the menu, and i also tried the reset button. Still nothing. Going to give Canon tech a call and see what they have to say about it, but keep the suggestions coming if you have more.

Thanks for the input so far!

-gardy
Gardy Raymond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2008, 01:20 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Gardy...........

This is so obvious I can't believe it's the cause, but I'll put it out there as the only other thing I can think of which could kill the on - boards:

You don't have anything plugged into the Aux mic input under the handle, do you?

My last gasp option is the Mic Att. switch under the LCD "home" position, tho' that wouldn't kill it completely.

Let us know how this pans out.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network