captured m2t clips have extra frames at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 21st, 2008, 12:48 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Argos, Greece
Posts: 70
captured m2t clips have extra frames

just noticed today that in Sony Vegas 7 a few of my captured clips are cut a few frames into the next clip. the m2t clip will have a split second of the following recorded clip.
anyone ever notice this?
thanks
gz

PS this is a Canon XH A1 camera which is why i posted here.
George Zabetas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2008, 12:52 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,770
I noticed this too when I first go my cam. I think it has to do with the fact that HDV uses a 15 frame GOP so in order for it to build the frames each frame it may need to carry over some extra frames.
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2008, 02:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Argos, Greece
Posts: 70
thanks for the info. glad its not only me.
easy to fix, but was perplexed as to why.
cheers
George Zabetas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 12:29 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 259
I've got the same issue with v8.0.... The explanation above seems to make since...
__________________
"The only thing the camera sees is light..."
http://www.GoWildOlive.com
Doug Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 09:19 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Must be a Vegas thing, I haven't seen that in FCP.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 12:23 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
I get this when downconverting upon capture to Avid Xpress DV. I always sub-clip after capture and the last 3 frames from the previous sub-clip are always at the beginning of the next sub-clip. I always thought it as odd, but never worried about it.
Bill Busby is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network