XH Custom Presets Download Library (copy) - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2007, 12:08 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Mody
As I see it, the images should look more like:
I agree. I always thought they seemed on the dark side, but thought it might be my monitor on this netbox, but then someone else mentioned it as well, & now you :)

Bill
Bill Busby is offline  
Old February 24th, 2007, 06:14 PM   #17
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London
Posts: 8
XH Custom Presets - camera does not see presets?

Hello Chris,
The presets you posted cannot be seen by my XHA1. I have followed your instruction (ie I used the presets folder that was on the memory card when I initialized it) to house your presets that I downloaded. I then put the card in the camera but the card to icon symbol is constantly grayed out?
Hence I have yet to look at any presets of yours. Have I missed something ? I assume I can go via Mac in all of this with SD multi card reader. All other preset activity in camera is fine except anything being read off the card by the camera.

Any advice help very much appreciated !

Thnks graham
Graham Westfield is offline  
Old February 24th, 2007, 09:22 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 200
Dell 2405 monitor

I have the slightly older version of the Dell 24" flat panel monitor. It works as an external XH-A1 monitor without having the need to be connected to any computer. Just plug it into the wall outlet. I use it with my I-mac with the mini DVI adapter I bought at the Apple store.

I could use it connected to my XP box as well, at the same time, by pressing the button that switches the input from d-sub to dvi-d to s-video to composite to component.

By the way, the monitor power supply makes a very high pitched whine when it has been on for awhile. You don't hear it unless you are in a very quite area. Still.....
Larry Vaughn is offline  
Old February 24th, 2007, 09:32 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 200
Richard Hunter's preset movie

Did this get posted somewhere?
Larry Vaughn is offline  
Old February 25th, 2007, 03:30 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 83
[QUOTE=Graham Westfield]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Here are eighteen downloadable Custom Preset files for the Canon XH A1 and G1 camcorders.

Hello Chris,
The presets you posted cannot be seen by my XHA1. I have followed your instruction (ie I used the presets folder that was on the memory card when I initialized it) to house your presets that I downloaded. I then put the card in the camera but the card to icon symbol is constantly grayed out?
Hence I have yet to look at any presets of yours. Have I missed something ? I assume I can go via Mac in all of this with SD multi card reader. All other preset activity in camera is fine except anything being read off the card by the camera.

Any advice help very much appreciated !

Thnks graham

I had same problem, even following Howards advice on page one. In the end I just manually created the presets in the camera and when ran out of room copied them to SD card. I then did the same with the rest etc, overriding the ones on the camera until eventually I had all of them on the SD card. All seems to work then! Now I can pick & choose which ones to copy over to camera. Long way of going about it but all good fun getting to know your camera.

G
Gareth Trezise is offline  
Old February 26th, 2007, 03:02 AM   #21
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 2
Graham - this probably isn't your problem, but when I first tried to use the presets I created a folder on the memory card called "Presets" which didn't work - the correct name is the singular "Preset". Might help?
Rob Claisse is offline  
Old February 26th, 2007, 08:27 AM   #22
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Claisse
The correct name is the singular "Preset".
Must be in all caps: PRESET
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline  
Old February 26th, 2007, 12:16 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Must be in all caps: PRESET

I will have to admit I must have done it wrong. Even though I went around it the very long way I decided still to try the original instructions again & it does work. Maybe I didn't originally have the folder name in uppercase, who knows!

G
Gareth Trezise is offline  
Old February 28th, 2007, 11:57 AM   #24
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London
Posts: 8
PRESET heaven !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Claisse View Post
Graham - this probably isn't your problem, but when I first tried to use the presets I created a folder on the memory card called "Presets" which didn't work - the correct name is the singular "Preset". Might help?
Thankyou 'everyone' for you contributions! Yes it is meant to read PRESET and not presets . . . . . . . . . . . . . Heaven !

G
Graham Westfield is offline  
Old March 3rd, 2007, 09:40 AM   #25
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
As some of you guys know, after having tested the A1 for a couple of weeks I am now giving the fixed Sony V1E another chance. Putting its own problems aside, I love its vivid colours and sharp look without too much EE. Hence the question: did anyone succeede to aproximate that kind of picture with an XH preset? If so, could you please post the settings?

If somebody did try but couldn't do it, please share your experience as well...TIA!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline  
Old March 6th, 2007, 04:24 PM   #26
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
New Dvx Look Preset

I've created this and it will probably need work. It looked pretty good right next to my DVX. I'm calling it DISDVX__

I may do additional work on it.
Attached Files
File Type: cpf PRESET19.CPF (40 Bytes, 1439 views)
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline  
Old March 6th, 2007, 06:01 PM   #27
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Thanks for submitting this Steven,

I'll get it worked into the Excel spread sheet tonight hopefully. And I believe there are several other presets floating around in other threads that need to be gathered up and included here.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline  
Old March 7th, 2007, 01:20 PM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East TN
Posts: 415
Close match to Sony HC1 Preset

I've had a few email requests for the preset I used to match closely to the Sony HC1. Thought I'd share it here if anyone is interested.

Note, all I did was make a color chart with sample paint chips on a black poster board and previewed it on a monitor via both A1 and HC1 by switching back and forth till the appeared the same. Of course the A1 kicks butt on details and other aspects, but the colors appear similar.

Sony HC1 settings were Camera Color: +2 Camera Sharpness: +2

Working on a low light preset now...

http://www.jcdv.com/PRESET/PRESET20.CPF
I called it HC1day
__________________
Jerome
www.jeromecloninger.com
Jerome Cloninger is offline  
Old March 8th, 2007, 09:14 AM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 60
has anyone attempted to make a PRESET to match a Sony PD170 (PD150, VX2100, VX2000 etc) ??

I'll be doing a 2 camera with one, and I want to make the XHA1 look as close as possible
Barry Richard is offline  
Old March 8th, 2007, 12:46 PM   #30
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,012
i'm going to try to upload a preset using the DVinfo uploader.

the title is MEMORY, we're using it for a flashback scene. it's basically a yellow bleach bypass, for those of you familiar with Juan Diaz' bleach bypass, his is very blue-green, we were looking for something different. it looks really cool if you blow out the highlights a bit....

eureka, seems like it worked....
Attached Files
File Type: cpf PRESET21.CPF (40 Bytes, 1333 views)
Meryem Ersoz is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network