How do I stop the Focus Distance from Disappearing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 12th, 2008, 04:11 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
How do I stop the Focus Distance from Disappearing

Was doing some tests with my PAL XH A1 and noticed that the focus measurement keeps disappearing from the flip out screen once you stop turning the focus ring. I switched the focus measurement to ALWAYS ON in the custom display menu but it doesn't seem to work, it still disappears when you stop turning the ring.

Anyone know how to get it to stay on screen all the time?

It's quite frustrating when you get the perfect focus then can't read the setting.

Last edited by Stuart Graham; September 12th, 2008 at 04:13 PM. Reason: extra info
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 04:40 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Mine stays on all the time. I remember I had to mess around with it for a long time to get to that point. It's in the custom display settings someplace. I don't remember what I did, but I went through the same thing you are.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 07:30 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
I need this display constantly on as well and I found that changing the custom menu to "always on" will not effect the main screen display setting, but it does on the second display. Press the "Display" button that's above the focus assist buttons until you get the LCD to display the screen with the most crap on it. That's what I call the Main screen. Press it once more and you should see your focus distance.

As a minor rant, I think Canon's display options are stupid. One screen gives you everything including your Aunt Betty's phone number. The second one is almost completely configurable. The third gives only the safe guide and fourth gives you just the image. If I'm doing this right, it's a royal PITA. I would like to be able to configure at least two of them completely.

Sorry. The devil made me do it.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2008, 02:58 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Aha!

Thanks Tripp, I didn't realise configuring the display only configured one of them. I can see the focus distance all the time now. I've been able to set up up the screen just as I want, hooray!
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 06:53 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sutton Coldfield UK
Posts: 17
Brilliant! Thanks for the tips, I'd given up on this one, just change the settings.

Thanks again, Alan in the UK
Alan R. Moore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network