Xh-a1 & Hv30 Using 30p Not Mixing In Fcp at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 2nd, 2008, 09:32 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
Xh-a1 & Hv30 Using 30p Not Mixing In Fcp

Here is my problem.

I have XH-A1 filming in 30p and HV30 in 30p using FCP.
However, when I go to mix them together in a multiclip sequence, I get the error that says I am using different codecs.

When I check the format properties of each clip, the XH-A1 has 108030p listed under compressor while the HV30 has 108060i. Why is this different?

Normally I down convert on ingest so I have not experienced this problem in the past. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Jonathan Schwartz
CA Video Productions
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 10:28 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC Area.
Posts: 550
I am going to be guessing you are using FCP 5 since you wouldn't have this problem in 6. So what I think you have to is to convert the 1080/30p to 1080/60i in order to get it to mix well with the HV30, or upgrade to FCP 6 with the multi format timeline technology.
Louis Maddalena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 11:06 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
Nope - using FCS2

Louis,

Sorry, I am using FCP v. 6.0.4. I can drop them in the same timeline, but FCP requires the clips to be the same codec in order to create a multiclip.


Jon
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 11:44 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Guessing a little here as I shoot with the HV20 and not the HV30....

The HV30 shoots 30P in a 60i wrapper... I think you have to pull down
the 30P out of the wrapper first... then the footage will report as 30P...

At least thats the way I have to do 24P on the HV20, it doesn't do 30P...
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 12:03 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
How?

Ray,

How do I do this?

Jon
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 12:07 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 689
Hi Jonathan,

Did you use the same Capture Preset? FWIW I've been editing with the A1 and HV30 set at 30p and haven't gotten any warning. I capture with the default HDV 60i preset.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Schwartz View Post
Here is my problem.

I have XH-A1 filming in 30p and HV30 in 30p using FCP.
However, when I go to mix them together in a multiclip sequence, I get the error that says I am using different codecs.

When I check the format properties of each clip, the XH-A1 has 108030p listed under compressor while the HV30 has 108060i. Why is this different?

Normally I down convert on ingest so I have not experienced this problem in the past. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Jonathan Schwartz
CA Video Productions
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 12:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Schwartz View Post
Ray,

How do I do this?

Jon

I use Cineform for the pull down... there are other ways...

My understanding is you can ingest at 60i for both of your camera's but thats not
the same as 30P...
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 01:00 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
PReset

Joel,,
Yes I captured both with the same preset Firewire 108060i Basic. Are you doing multiclips with the footage? I can edit them together fine. That is not a problem, but FCP will not let me make a multiclip.

Jon
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2008, 01:17 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Jonathan, I may be leading you down the wrong path....

I'm now wondering if your HV30 was set for 30p... again I don't have the HV30, I do have the HV20...

from what I read the HV30 shoots, 24p,30p or 60i


if you do find that the footage that you are presently working with is indeed 60i and you still need to mix it with 30p you might try and de-interlace the 60i footage....
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 08:50 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13
The problem here isn't the frame rate. It's the codec or compressor. The HV30 is brought in differently even if you use the same Easy Setup in FCP. I bring mine in as HDV 1080p24 but the HV30 automatically reverts to something else at 29.97. Now, I know this case is slightly different than yours, but what you need to do is drop all of the HV30 files in Compressor, and create a preset that makes it the same codec as the XHA1 files. It's a pain. But it's worth it if you're doing MultiCam. Right now, I'm compressing about 3 hrs of footage and just letting it run all night.

It's pretty similar to this Compressor Workflow:

Final Cut Pro 6: 1080p24 workflow for Canon HV20 camcorder

but you'll need to change the codec to what fits you're needs.

Make sense?
Kevin Bayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 09:29 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 211
What if 60i

What if both streams are running at 60i, would they match up in FCP for multicam?

Jon Schwartz
Jonathan Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2008, 04:10 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13
Quote:
When I check the format properties of each clip, the XH-A1 has 108030p listed under compressor while the HV30 has 108060i. Why is this different?
I don't know why this is different but that's the problem with why multiclip won't work. You need to get them to be the same thing. I would convert the HV30 to get it to recognize as 108030p. like I said, I can't explain why it's not already though.

Here's a screengrab of what i'm working on right now, two HV30's and an XH-A1 in use:

http://softcitylights.com/images/fcp_screengrab.png

But yeah, 24p there.
Kevin Bayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 12:31 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 689
Hi Jon,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Schwartz View Post
What if both streams are running at 60i, would they match up in FCP for multicam?
Did you ever get this figured out? I'm suddenly dealing with the same issue. Like you I shoot with Canon XHA1's at 30F and HV30's at 30P. When I capture them into FCP 6 the HV30's show up as 1080i60. The XHA1's show up as 108030p. This happens regardless what camera is used for capture, the A1 or the 30. I've even tried Capture Magic HD and had the same results.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/attachmen...1&d=1228804353

This is fine except for when I want to create a multiclip. I get a warning that the codec types are not the same and therefore multiclip isn't possible. I am shooting 30p and 30F mostly to avoid the extra step of running all of the HV30 footage through compressor for a reverse telecine when shooting both at 24. Am I doomed to always have to run half my footage through Compressor in order to do a multiclip? And don't even think of trying to create a reference movie from the sequence that just may have the same codec type - HDV always has to conform so it takes eons for it to export even if all you want is a reference movie rather than one that is self contained. I miss the predictable sd days...
Attached Images
 
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 01:35 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 689
Here's what I've decided to do for now - I'm converting the HV30 material that I need for the muliticlip as a HDV - 1080p30 file in Compressor. I take a hit with a compression cycle but until I figure out a faster more efficient workflow this will have to do. I tried exporting the HV30 footage as ProRes - 1080p30 but that gave me the same 'not the same codec type' error, so it has to be HDV. The cons are the quality hit and the time it takes, but I make that up in the space requirements. I run through up to 15 hours of captures every week so whatever I decide to do it has to be fast and efficient. Below is a still of some artifacts that occur as result of the 1080i60 to 1080p30 HDV conversion. (This is a screen capture blown up 400% in two viewers.) The left is the converted file - notice the blockiness in some of the nondescript areas. At 100% they are not noticeable.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/attachmen...1&d=1228851299
Attached Thumbnails
Xh-a1 & Hv30 Using 30p Not Mixing In Fcp-conversion_artifacts.png  
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 03:02 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 160
What about 24f (XhA1) and 24p(hv20) multiclip? After I convert the HV footage into 23.97, the XH clip turns into 29.97 (in the multiclip) making it impossible to synch both. What? Why? How do I get around this?
Erick Munari is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network