Canon upgrades - XH A1s and XH G1s - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2008, 02:38 AM   #61
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Even Solberg View Post
Wonder if it can do the #1 requested thing for the A1 - OIS on a custom button. :)
anybody know? i'm curious if Canon is 'listening'...
Brian David Melnyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 06:09 PM   #62
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 133
back in September I finally stepped up from my Sony HC1 and got a Canon XH-A1. Unfortunately, we had a fire at my house last month and my Xh-a1 was exposed badly to the heat and smoke. I had sent my xh-a1 to the canon factory service center and they just determined it "Beyond Economic Repair" from all the smoke damage. Now i need to decide if i want to get another used xh-a1 or perhaps get a new xh-a1s. I feel a lot more comfortable spending sub-$3k because of the level of my work with this cam, but i really like the ability to record to the hard drive also. I never want to go tapeless because i like the ease of archiving that tapes provide. This is a tough decision.

On a unrelated note, i also would like to replace my hc1 which also died in the fire. I'm thinking an HV20/HV30, but again, would love something that i could record to tape and also something like a hard drive or some sort of removable media, but i'm not sure if there's anything like this out there.
__________________
Current Audio Equipment: two AT822 mics, Sony MZ-RH1, and KE-110CCR. What else should I get for short films and recording stand-up comedy? http://is.gd/kePy
Shahryar Rizvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 07:25 PM   #63
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: columbus, oh
Posts: 44
My next Canon HD camera will be the 5D Mark II DSLR..I can't wait to shoot some video with my 300mm 2.8L, 85mm 1.8, and 24-70mm 2.8L
John Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 12:50 AM   #64
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Wright View Post
Canon seem to be a bit shy about the side of the camera where the XLR inputs are. There are no photos of that side in their press release pictures...
Your wish is my command:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-xh-...-vs-xh-g1.html
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 04:17 PM   #65
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Labriola View Post
What do you think support for FS-CV DTE Recorder will be? Don't all cameras support this??
As long as Canon does not offer a solid state based camera, help yourself and attach Sony's MRC1K to the Canons' firewire ports.
Peter Kraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2008, 12:08 PM   #66
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 179
According to the A1s manual I recently downloaded from Canon, OIS on/off CAN be assigned to custom button 1 or 2.

See page 73 in the US/English manual.
__________________
Woz
Ken Wozniak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2008, 12:34 PM   #67
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
If that is the case I can only hope Canon will provide such an option through a firmware update for xh-a1 users.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2008, 01:27 PM   #68
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I guess that's for the new S model only, right? Too bad we can't download something to do that on the original model.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2008, 02:05 PM   #69
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Wozniak View Post
According to the A1s manual I recently downloaded from Canon, OIS on/off CAN be assigned to custom button 1 or 2. See page 73 in the US/English manual.
Awesome! That's great news, which I had not expected. Thanks
for reporting this, as I haven't seen the manual yet. Good to know,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2008, 02:07 PM   #70
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC Area.
Posts: 550
That is good to hear!

Although I will not be updating my current A1 for a while, when I do I will likely go to the A1s.
Louis Maddalena is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network