HD capture? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2008, 10:39 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: AJ, AZ
Posts: 14
HD capture?

Can I capture my HD footage to my computer with a SD camera with out loosing quality? When all I was shooting was SD I would use a cheap camcorder as a deck to capture With. Will this still work?
thanks a head of time,
Clint
Clint Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2008, 11:58 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Short answer, no.

It won't read the codec.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 12:12 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clint Martin View Post
Can I capture my HD footage to my computer with a SD camera with out loosing quality?
A standard definition camcorder cannot play back HD video, sorry.

See http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-xl-...rame-mode.html for your Canon consumer HDV camcorder options.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 12:14 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Like CH said, HV20/HV30 is what I use for my capture cam.

You can score a HV20 for less than $400 if you look hard enough on criagslist, the bay, or the hv20 forums. I don't shoot in 30F so I don't need it from the HV30.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 08:13 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Richmond, Canada
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Panado View Post
Like CH said, HV20/HV30 is what I use for my capture cam.

You can score a HV20 for less than $400 if you look hard enough on criagslist, the bay, or the hv20 forums. I don't shoot in 30F so I don't need it from the HV30.
What would happen if you shot 30F with an XHA1 and tried capturing it using an HV20? I've actually been doing that and I haven't had any noticeable problems (but note I'm not super-technical when it comes to these things)...
Chris Estrella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 08:43 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Estrella View Post
What would happen if you shot 30F with an XHA1 and tried capturing it using an HV20? I've actually been doing that and I haven't had any noticeable problems (but note I'm not super-technical when it comes to these things)...
I don't shoot 30F so I wasn't even aware that the HV20 would recognize a 30F clip. It was my understanding that since it didn't have 30F ability to record that it wouldn't see it. If you've been capturing via an HV20 30F footage from the Xh-A1 with no problems, it's something new for me :).

Maybe someone else can chime in on that?
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 08:50 AM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Panado View Post
If you've been capturing via an HV20 30F footage from the Xh-A1 with no problems, it's something new for me :).
Once again... not sure why this isn't getting through...

See http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-xl-...rame-mode.html for your Canon consumer HDV camcorder options.

See also -- the last paragraph on this page: http://www.hdvinfo.net/articles/canon/hv20overview.php
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 10:17 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: AJ, AZ
Posts: 14
Thanks for the help,
I am just getting into the world of HD, and am loving it.
Clint
__________________
http://skinnymoose.com/onstand/
Clint Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 01:23 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Once again... not sure why this isn't getting through...
Probably because the title of the thread you supplied is misleading?

I own an HV20, and I thought (as most others did, no doubt) that the thread you referenced was about an inexpensive dedicated deck.

Personally, unless I need to move freely, I capture directly to an external drive using Adobe OnLocation.


J.
Jacques E. Bouchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2008, 02:17 PM   #10
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
The HV30 has broken the $600 barrier at B&H now:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Camcorder.html
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 02:05 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Jacques hit it on the head, Chris. I already used the HV20 as a capture/playback device for 24F and after reading the first few replies months ago, never kept updated. It started getting "techno jargon'd" out rather quickly so I moved on. I blame my casual A.D.D., lol.

The 2nd link you provided in reference to the last paragraph explains it quickly without having to read thru all 6 pages of the 1st link. I really appreciate you hammering into my head though because if not, I wouldn't have found out that my HV20 played back my 30F footage :) (even though I never shoot in 30F). Learn something new all the time here!

Thanks
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2008, 09:46 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Decent laptops are so cheap these days, and there's HDVsplit. I use On Location now, but used to use 'split. Works great, not a lot of money. A little gaffers (well... duct) on the tripod spreader. Even looks impressive.

On the other hand, I don't shoot while climbing or from the back of chopper.
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network