A1 and headphone problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2008, 09:49 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 408
A1 and headphone problem

I have used headphones in the past to check sound levels while taping with my A1 with no issues. Yesterday I started to do so, and to my chagrin there was a buzzing sound in one ear phone ( but not the other). When I hook up these headphones to my pc, there is no problem. Is it possible while adjusting the audio settings for my external mic I messed up something? Or do I have a problem with the A1 that will lead to me sending it away for a repair? Any ideas or possible solutions (other than sending it away)?
Stephen Sobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 02:03 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Is it possible you didn't push the phones plug fully into the A1, that could cause that hum.

And is the audio hum free on both A1 tracks? If it continues try running the A1 on A/C power and see if that clears it. Also try pushing the A1 reset button.

Cheers.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 02:34 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 408
When plugged into my pc, I can listen to music with no hum in either ear. When plugged into my A1, there is a lour buzz in the right ear. AC power makes no difference.

How do I use the reset button?

----------------

Never mind. I figured out the reset button. That did the trick!
Stephen Sobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 02:42 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Stephen I've never used the reset, best to follow the manual instructions. Also do you have another set of cans to try? If not take the cam to a sound shop, try everything before sending it away for fixing.

EDIT...great stuff!!

Cheers.

Last edited by Allan Black; November 23rd, 2008 at 02:43 PM. Reason: it worked!!
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 02:55 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 408
I googled and found how to do the reset button. You make sure the battery is out and there isn't any AC power connected, and then lightly push it. I used the unfolded end of a paper clip. That did it.
Stephen Sobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 03:16 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Did you have to reset the A1 clock and other settings?

Cheers.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 05:36 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Sobel View Post
I have used headphones in the past to check sound levels while taping with my A1 with no issues. Yesterday I started to do so, and to my chagrin there was a buzzing sound in one ear phone ( but not the other). When I hook up these headphones to my pc, there is no problem. Is it possible while adjusting the audio settings for my external mic I messed up something? Or do I have a problem with the A1 that will lead to me sending it away for a repair? Any ideas or possible solutions (other than sending it away)?
I know this sounds daft (please don't be insulted) but I once had a similar problem and it turned out to be because I had plugged the headphones in to the AV socket instead of the headphone jack (- we were 2 crew down and I was rushing about setting up 4 cameras with a very tight timescale before a live performance).

I noticed just in time and felt very silly but also very relieved it was something so simple.
Can you definitely eliminate this possibility?
Colin McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 05:56 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin McDonald View Post
I know this sounds daft (please don't be insulted) but I once had a similar problem and it turned out to be because I had plugged the headphones in to the AV socket instead of the headphone jack (- we were 2 crew down and I was rushing about setting up 4 cameras with a very tight timescale before a live performance).

I noticed just in time and felt very silly but also very relieved it was something so simple.
Can you definitely eliminate this possibility?
I don't believe that I was doing that, though it's possible. Since I did the reset, everything has been fine.

Allan - I did have to reset the clock, and I also had turn on the presets. However, I didn't lose the custom presets I had loaded - so everything isn't reset.
Stephen Sobel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 12:32 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 477
Yeah, it sounds just like the headphones were plugged into the AV socket. I too did that once (that I will admit to) and just slow things down a bit now so as to avoid a repeat of that scenario.
Steve Wolla is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network