DV Tape Switch at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2008, 10:12 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 99
DV Tape Switch

Hey guys,

I received my Canon XHA1 a week or so ago and have been just kinda messing around and shooting on the Canon DigitalMaster tape that shipped with the camera, I know your not supposed to switch tapes alot but am I gonna have a problem going to Sony DVC Premiums now that I started on the canon tape? Thank you for your input!
Andrew Allsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2008, 10:55 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 8
Switching shouldn't be a problem after using the canon tapes for such a short time.
Martin Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 12:27 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 477
You'll be fine shooting with the Sony Premiums. Not to worry. I believe Sony makes that Canon tape that comes with the A1 anyways.
Steve Wolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 02:07 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
The general consensus back in the archives here is to run a cleaner tape as soon as you get the A1 before recording the first DV tape. Make it the same brand as the DV tape you intend to use.

Cheers.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 10:15 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 99
Thanks guys, I appreciate the help!
Andrew Allsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 05:07 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
im having problems with the sony premiums now, i use my sony cleaning tape, and 80% of my tapes are bad, completly messing up my shots, becoming really frustrating

thinking on switching, maybe going all hdv tapes, but dont want to spend the money, or go to panasonic
Janson Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2008, 09:06 PM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I had trouble with Panasonic AMQ tapes. Switched to Sony's expensive PHDVM Digital Mastering tapes and haven't seen a dropout yet.

If 80% of your tapes are bad, there's probably a problem with your camera. I'd send it in for service. That's beyond anything I've heard, even for cheap tapes.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2008, 01:04 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 94
Yeah 80% is very very high, and probably needs to be inspected. I have used Sony Premiums for the entire time that I have had my camera...almost two years. Haven't had the camera serviced, and have not used a cleaning tape yet. Virtually no drop outs to date. Pretty great performance for such an inexpensive tape.
Mike Flynn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network