Creating and Saving a Custom Preset at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 29th, 2008, 11:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Abilene, Texas
Posts: 42
Creating and Saving a Custom Preset

I've searched here and several other places on the net looking for a way to create a new preset for my A1. Lots of conversations about presets but I can't seem to find the one that says how to create a new one and save it to your SD card. I'm trying to create and try to TrueColor preset from Paolo Ciccone and save it to my Sd card. I assumed you had to download the Console but I can't seem to get it to work on my Parallels version of Windows.

Anyhow, I'd appreciate any help in the right direction. I apologize of this is something I should have found in my searches. If I could get the right keywords I probably wouldn't be asking here.

Thanks in advance.

dave
David Gibson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 12:12 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: cape town South-Africa
Posts: 251
David -

Try this tool - custom presets editors for mac and win
Herman Van Deventer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 04:20 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jönköping/Sweden
Posts: 12
Safe?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herman Van Deventer View Post

I need to know the same thing as David, but is that tool safe to use, i mean, could it make any damage?
Christoffer Lantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 05:30 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
I use it with no problems. I like using this to find out what those "mystery presets" I've forgotten about are on my Sd card..heh.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 05:48 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jönköping/Sweden
Posts: 12
Help thank you :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Panado View Post
I use it with no problems. I like using this to find out what those "mystery presets" I've forgotten about are on my Sd card..heh.
I've a pal version of the camera and i don't really can find everything in the manual as it is in the menu and so on ( hope you understand what I'm trying to say )

so i wonder, how do i install the presets ? :)
Christoffer Lantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 06:08 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Use a SD card instead of in camera to store your custom presets. I believe the XH-A1 came with one in the box.

Use a card reader and put a folder called PRESETS (all captial, I THINK it's with an S) onto the root drive. Then store your presets there. Insert the SD card in the slot above the battery. It'll load when you turn on your camera and you can cycle to them by pressing the select button. It'll have a card looking image behind the number of the preset stored.

You'd have to name them PRESET01.CPF instead of MYCUSTOMPRESETNAME.CPF because it will only recognize that naming convention all the way up to number 20.

Hope that makes sense. Post back if you have anymore questions and if anyone would like to clarify the PRESETS vs PRESET folder, that'd be cool too.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 06:13 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
server hiccup, sorry for the multiple posts.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 06:20 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Abilene, Texas
Posts: 42
Thanks for the replies. I'll check out the software mentioned here and see how it works. I do have 19 presets on the SD card that came with my camera. These presets are the ones available on this website. They do work well. The challenge is that I've found one that some people said is really good and I want to try it. But, I couldn't figure out how to create it and save it to the camera.

Again, thanks for the replies and the help.

dave
David Gibson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 06:24 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
server hiccup
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 07:25 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jönköping/Sweden
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Panado View Post
Use a SD card instead of in camera to store your custom presets. I believe the XH-A1 came with one in the box.

Use a card reader and put a folder called PRESETS (all captial, I THINK it's with an S) onto the root drive. Then store your presets there. Insert the SD card in the slot above the battery. It'll load when you turn on your camera and you can cycle to them by pressing the select button. It'll have a card looking image behind the number of the preset stored.

You'd have to name them PRESET01.CPF instead of MYCUSTOMPRESETNAME.CPF because it will only recognize that naming convention all the way up to number 20.

Hope that makes sense. Post back if you have anymore questions and if anyone would like to clarify the PRESETS vs PRESET folder, that'd be cool too.

Well i don't have a card reader, and i cannot make a folder when i connect to the driver ( for some reason ) :/ Can't right click as usual, do you know anything else i can do?
Christoffer Lantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 07:41 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Abilene, Texas
Posts: 42
Chris,

I had to buy a smaller SD card reader that USB attaches to my laptop, download the files to that and then put the Sd card in the back of the camera.
David Gibson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 07:42 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Abilene, Texas
Posts: 42
Herman,

Creating a new preset with your software was easy. I'm not in a place where I can load it to the SD card right now but will do that in the next day or two and let you know how it all worked out.

dave
David Gibson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 07:45 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Abilene, Texas
Posts: 42
Chris,

No damage to my macbook pro when I ran the software. It made a preset file just fine and that's all I can say right now. I'll load the preset file when I can and let you know via this thread how things worked on the camera.

dave
David Gibson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2008, 08:11 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jönköping/Sweden
Posts: 12
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Gibson View Post
Chris,

No damage to my macbook pro when I ran the software. It made a preset file just fine and that's all I can say right now. I'll load the preset file when I can and let you know via this thread how things worked on the camera.

dave
Thanks, that's very nice of you!
Christoffer Lantz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network