Recording DigiBeta and Audio into XH-A1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 15th, 2008, 02:57 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 56
Recording DigiBeta and Audio into XH-A1

Im trying to dub Digibeta into the XH-A1. I am using the Video 2 BNC input and that works fine. Does the serial/component work for input? I dont have the cable with me.
I cant seem to get the audio to work with the XLR inputs. I hope I dont have to go into the mini jack for audio in. The manual is not very good for VCR mode instructions.

Help.

Erik
Erik Naso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 03:35 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Eric.................

The Component connector is for O/P only.

Dive into the Menu and select XLR ON in the sound sub menu.

If it's stereo set the XLR channel select switch on the XLR block to CH1 not CH1. CH2

Make sure the phantom power switchs are OFF.

Set the Line/ Mic switch to reflect the signal coming from your source.

Should be good to go.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 05:38 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 56
Cant seem to get the XLR selection when in VCR mode. I had to get a couple of XLR to RCA adapters to get audio from the mini jack instead of the XLR inputs. I dont think the XLR inputs work in VCR mode.
Erik Naso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 06:21 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi...........

Well, I've just had a fiddle with my A1 and, sure enough, in VCR mode NONE of the mic inputs or on board mic's work.

Seems the only "audio in" available is via the AV port.

RCA it is then.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 07:06 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 56
Thanks Chris for fiddlen. The dub seems to have worked pretty well. Not sure why Canon did it this way but so be it. It would be great to go in component and balanced audio.

Erik
Erik Naso is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network